Blueberry hand pies

I won’t write this down as my favorite recipe or experience. But, these are good if you like blueberries.

IMG_1989

They were a bit time consuming and if I did this again, I would stick with the recipe but make a pie of it. I don’t think I have the patience to properly seal each pie and make it super pretty. But again, they did taste good.

IMG_1973

Do NOT mess with my butter!

IMG_1974

For the crust , I used the same recipe I used on the raspberry pie. I just doubled it since the original was only a one-layer crust.

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (don’t skimp!)
  • 1 cup butter, diced and chilled (DO NOT SUB MARGARINE)
  • 5-10 tablespoons of ice water, just until it comes together

FOR THE PIE, recipe based on this site: (I was hopeful mine would turn out as gorgeous as hers Sad smile)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 cups (1 pint) fresh blueberries
Pinch of salt
1 egg yolk
1 Tbsp. cream or water
Sugar, for garnish

Chill the pie dough for at least 1 hour before making hand pies.

In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, and lemon zest. Set aside.
In another bowl, coat the blueberries with lemon juice. Sprinkle on the sugar mixture and stir until blueberries are evenly coated.

Roll out chilled pie dough to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut out circles approximately 5-6 inches in diameter (I used the rim of a bowl to cut out circles). Fill center of dough circle with blueberry filling. The amount you can fit inside will depend on the size of your blueberries

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg yolk with water or cream. Brush egg wash on edge of dough circles, fold in half, and seal the edges with a fork.

Chill hand pies for at least 1/2 hour before baking.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

Remove pies from refrigerator and brush with remaining egg wash. Sprinkle on sugar and cut a small slit or two on the top of each pie to let out steam. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until pies are golden brown and flaky. Cool to room temperature before serving.
Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

IMG_1975IMG_1976

While the pie dough was chilling, I waited and then got the blueberry mix together. Hi FeistyCat lurking in the back!

IMG_1977IMG_1978

I got 5 circles per each dough portion for 10 hand pies.

IMG_1979IMG_1980

My assembly line set up and ready to go.

IMG_1981

Pies brushed and nearly ready. I should have sealed them better though.

IMG_1983

Be sure to chill them first. The dough warms quickly as you work with it.

IMG_1984

See? I had some leaks. I DEFINITELY do not make everything perfect or pretty.

IMG_1985

One of the worst ones I took as a taste tester.

IMG_1990

They tasted fine luckily. Not the prettiest, but at the end of the day they were all eaten by co-workers!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Fail. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

