Caprese on a stick

Who doesn’t love food on a stick? I mean seriously! I got this wonderful cookbook from my friend’s Mother – who is a total doll. It is simply called On a Stick, and as you might imagine, all recipes are on a stick. There are some winners in there.

IMG_1961

Another thing I love is caprese salads. For real. A few short years back, I didn’t even LIKE tomatoes! And now, I eat them raw? I really, really love Roma tomatoes though. This is such an easy and quick preparation that will wow your guests. I made these when we hosted my parents one night for dinner. With tomatoes turning red every day, this is a timely recipe to use them up.

IMG_1954IMG_1955

Caprese on a Stick

  • Roma tomatoes – chopped and de-seeded
  • Fresh mozzarella pearls (found at Krause’s [usually] in the deli area with the ready to take-n-bake pizzas)
  • Sliced green onions
  • Fresh basil or parsley
  • Kraft Greek vinaigrette dressing or olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Toothpicks

On a toothpick – thread on a slice of tomato, a few green onion circles, mozzarella ball and fresh herbs. Repeat as needed. Gently heat the balsamic vinegar until thick and reduced by half – you need very little for an added flavor punch. Drizzle sticks with vinaigrette or olive oil and cooled balsamic. Chill until ready to serve. Devour.

IMG_1956

This is so easy because you need hardly any ingredients. But, this impresses because this is not how most of us eat day to day.

IMG_1957

My first stick. Instead of green onion, a small slice of red onion (or no onion) would also work well.

IMG_1958IMG_1959

Before drizzling with wet ingredients and after. I let mine sit drizzled overnight so it soaked in some of the flavor.

IMG_1960

I am pretty sure I could have housed this whole plate. So fresh and good on a warm summer evening. Please make these for your next party. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

