Broccoli Orzo Raspberry Salad

An original FeistyEats salad recipe! I don’t have many photos as I made this when friends were over and I am already weird enough without taking a million photos of my food. Smile I took a few recipes I had seen online and combined them into one I thought I would like. Here is what I did!

IMG_1895

Please note this was dark out and after we had eaten most of the salad.

IMG_1878

I think we are all always looking for a way to eat healthier at times. This salad is a great way to add veggies to your diet, without sacrificing some great flavors.

Broccoli Orzo Raspberry Salad – easily makes 8 servings as a side salad

  • 1 – 12oz. bag of Eat Smart broccoli florets, steamed in the bag, in the microwave for 4 minutes and cooled
  • ½ head cauliflower – finely chopped in food processor to resemble rice (about 2 cups) steamed in microwave for 4 minutes and cooled
  • 1 – 2 oz. bag of slivered almonds, toasted and cooled
  • ½ cup dry orzo, boil for 8-10 minutes and cooled
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/3 – ½ cup of Kraft Raspberry Vinaigrette

Boil a small kettle of water. Add orzo and salt to taste. As the orzo become al dente (8-10) minutes, remove, strain and cool. Prep your vegetables by cutting, steaming and cooling. Toast your almonds and cool them. 20 minutes before serving, combine all ingredients and mix well. Leftovers might have to be splashed with more vinaigrette the next day. Enjoy!

IMG_1879

Instead of having all pasta in this side dish, I simply put chopped cauliflower in the food processor and processed it until it resembled rice. Don’t go too long, it will turn to mush. Just lightly cover and nuke in your microwave for 4 minutes or so (my microwave is super high powered, fyi) until it is cooked. You don’t even need to add water!

Add your other ingredients. The star of the show here is the vinaigrette here – it adds a ton of flavor along with the almonds. This is such a light, healthy dish. You might need to add more vinaigrette the next day – or feel free to make your own to your preferred taste.

IMG_1891

Our meal consisted of smoked pork loin with honey mustard sauce, the broccoli orzo raspberry salad and our wonderful neighbor who is such a great cook, brought over the creamy corn salad with tons of fresh veggies. Dessert was served and I will be back later this week to share that recipe. Hint – it also features raspberries. Smile

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Salad, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

