Zesty cabbage salad

Ugh! I have a summer cold – those are just the worst, right? You know what else can set me in a tailspin? When you need something to take to a potluck? And only have like 5 minutes to spend on a dish? This is it – this is a winner and crowd pleaser.

IMG_1862

This slaw recipe has no mayo and is a take on the one you see with sugar and vegetable oil.

IMG_1858

This is all you need for a big bowl (probably 15-20 servings)

Zesty Cabbage Salad – courtesy of my co-worker and friend Mary

  • 1 bottle of Kraft Zesty Italian Anything dressing (notice that new Anything label?) – 16 oz.
  • 1 package of slivered almonds, toasted – about 2 ounces
  • 2 packages of Ramen noodles (flavor does not matter, you do not use the flavor packet)
  • 2 bags of coleslaw – 14 oz. each

Directions: Toast your almonds using your oven broiler in advance. Watch them carefully as they do not take long to toast. Take your ramen noodles and break them up and place in a large bowl. Set your seasoning packets aside – toss them or save for another recipe. Pour the whole bottle of dressing on the noodles and let that sit for at least 20 minutes to allow noodles to soften. Pour the coleslaw into the bowl and top with almonds. Mix thoroughly and set in fridge to combine. I like to mix this at least 20 minutes in advance to soak together. I think it gets better the longer it sits.

IMG_1859

Soaking the almonds. My co-worker said she prefers this without the ramen noodle seasoning because those contain MSG. So if you stay away from that, this is a great option for you.

IMG_1860

Be sure to toast your almonds – do not skip that step, it adds so much flavor!

IMG_1861

Enjoy this fresh and zesty summer salad!

IMG_1869

I made this salad while we were at my parents house for the weekend. This is out their back patio. It was a gorgeous weekend to go pontooning, fishing and celebrate my Mom’s birthday. I wish ND summer’s lasted longer. Right?

IMG_1871

I mean GEEZ! Even FeistyCat likes it out on the river. She thinks she is a mountain lion!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Salad, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

