Cinnamon Brownies

Well, this is something kind of different for me, both taste-wise and recipe-wise. I saw the original concept for these on 1 Cup Awesome, which is a great website. 

IMG_1636

They made theirs into a cinnamon brownie pie. I was originally going to just copy their recipe, but I was bummed to see that we do not have that brownie type of mix for sale at our grocery. But then, I thought, that isn’t so bad. Perhaps I could find a recipe online and skip the boxed step all together.

After looking at allrecipes.com for a while, I didn’t quite find anything that was what I wanted. So, I thought I’d come up with my own twist as I wanted to make these large enough for a jelly roll pan.

IMG_1609IMG_1610

You know, since my house if full of people? Mom – there are some pet pics for you. Brinklie the cat just loves sliding around on a town on the laminate floor and chewing old straws, hence that picture. Weirdo.

IMG_1611

Cinnamon Brownies with whipped cream frosting

    Ingredients

    • 2 1/2 cups sugar
    • 1 1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
    • 3 eggs
    • 3 tsp. vanilla
    • 2 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 heaping cup baking cocoa
    • 1 1/2 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
    • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup chopped walnuts or dark chocolate chips (or your preference of chip flavor)
     
    Directions
    1. In a mixing bowl, beat the sugar and butter. Add eggs and vanilla. Sift together the flour, cocoa, cinnamon, baking powder and salt; gradually add to the sugar mixture and mix well. Stir in walnuts and/or chips.
    2. Spread into a greased, parchment lined jelly roll pan. Mixture will be very thick and you will have to spread it with a spatula. Bake at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean (do not overbake). Cool completely before frosting.

    Cinnamon Brownies Topping from 1 Cup Awesome

    • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
    • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
    • 1 Tbsp. vanilla
    • Cocoa and cinnamon powder for dusting tops

    Place bowl and whisk attachment from the mixer in the freezer to chill for 15 minutes. Remove bowl and whisk attachment from the freezer. Beat the cream on high until soft peaks form, about 4 minutes. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Beat and additional 1-2 minutes until stiff peaks form. Spread cream to the edges and dust with cocoa powder/cinnamon mixture. Cover with foil and freeze flash freeze or let set up in the fridge. Remove the pies from the freezer 30 minutes before serving if you go that route. Keep refrigerated to keep cream intact.

IMG_1612IMG_1614

A few tips. I always like to sift cocoa. It can be very lumpy as you can see on the right.

IMG_1613IMG_1616

Beat your wet ingredients well, so they fluff up. After you incorporate everything, the mixture will be VERY thick.

IMG_1617IMG_1618

Before and after. I loved the swirled colors.

IMG_1619IMG_1620

You want to brownies FULLY cooled before you frost them. A few ideas to spend your time waiting for them to cool: go play with your pets, watch your husband plant the garden or

IMG_1621IMG_1622

plant some flowers. In my case, go buy them at the store because they put them together way more nice that I could. Smile 

IMG_1625IMG_1626

OK, your brownies are now cool and your bowl and whisk attachment cold. Whisk up your frosting.

IMG_1627IMG_1628

It will be light an fluffy!

IMG_1630IMG_1631

To be fancy, I sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon / cocoa mixture.

IMG_1633

At first, I was a bit overwhelmed with the cinnamon flavor and I wasn’t sure if I liked these.

IMG_1634

After I kept going back for a test sample, I decided by the 5th time that these are really good. Especially good if you like cinnamon.

IMG_1635

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cinnamon Brownies

  1. Beth says:

    Don’t forget – you can always make requests for items at your local grocery store (shameless plug for Krause’s SuperValu (www.krausessupervalu.com) ha! They especially love it if you have the packaging or UPC code.

  2. Thanks for making these and blogging about it. Glad you were able to “make them your own!”

Leave a Reply

