Meal Planning for one week

Wow! I just gained a lot of respect for anyone out there that feeds their family a home-cooked, healthy meal every day of the week. As a challenge to my husband (and to myself), I wanted to meal plan a fairly healthy week of food. I personally like to eat a diet that is low in sugar (I know you would never guess that by looking at this website), flour, fruit (not a fan) and processed foods. This is during the week. The weekends…well, that can be a different story! Lord knows I could always use a kick in the pants to eat healthy so game on!

IMG_1535

I spent a considerable amount of time planning out meals, snacks and groceries we would need. Again, lots of work. I don’t believe in having anything off limits and I think you have to allow “treats” and “good foods” now and then. Especially for weekends or special occasions. Also, if you are just starting to eat healthy, I think it is best to ease into it instead of just going cold turkey and cutting out all the things you are used to eating. So, I tried to find a happy medium. Here is my meal plan…I am sure it will differ depending on what we are in the mood for, etc. I hope to stick to it pretty closely though. I bought all these groceries and prepped the veggies and produce by washing and cutting it all when I got home – a huge time saver. Here is a quick peek and what I bought – total of $88 for one week! Groceries are a bit more in Hazen and I did purchase some items for a couple of pies I want to make for some friends. I am also using some items I have at home in the fridge or pantry.

  • Sunflower seeds – a fairly good snack, minus the salt. A must when camping though
  • Crystal Light drink packets – a good medium from pop to water
  • Cashews – to be divided out into small snack bags – good fat to fill you up (in small portions)
  • 2 Keebler graham crusts for the pies
  • Onion soup mix – to make with sour cream to use for a dip for veggies
  • Cottage cheese
  • Sour cream
  • Cream cheese – for the pies
  • Provolone cheese
  • 18 eggs – one of my favorite foods
  • Clausen dill pickles – a splurge at $4. Yikes!
  • Bacon – to be used in 2-3 meals
  • Coverdale little smokies – a treat when out camping
  • Round steak
  • Green and red onions
  • Green and red peppers
  • Snow peas
  • Broccoli and cauliflower
  • Carrot chips – anything sounds better if you call it a chip
  • Romaine and iceberg lettuce
  • Cucumber
  • Roma and vine tomatoes
  • 5 jalapeno peppers
  • 2 limes
  • Strawberries, 1 orange and 1 lemon all for the pies
  • 1 pizza for $7

As you can see, a few splurges, but a lot of healthy eats.

IMG_1536

Now, I don’t want to lie, it does suck to wash and cut all your produce. It takes time. However, it really saves you time throughout the week. Just suck it up and do it. Here is my menu plan:

MENU:

Friday:
Lunch: Chef salad
Supper: take and bake pizza (see, not all health food!)

Saturday (camping):
B – eggs with cheese and deer sausage
S – beer and sunflower seeds
L/D – steak with veggie kabobs
S – bacon wrapped smokies with BBQ sauce to share around the campsite

Sunday:
B: breakfast hoagie with bacon (recipe coming)
S: beer and veggies with dip
L: cheeseburger salads
S: Jell-O snack pack (very processed, but good in a pinch), veggies

Monday:
B: Denver egg bake (LOTS of water or Crystal Light)
S: nuts
L: BLT salad with greens
D: Grilled pork chops with cheesy green beans
S: 2 Girl Scout cookies

Tuesday:
B: Denver egg bake
S: veggies with dip
L: Phillies on 1/2 of a bun
D: BIG’s wings, shared appetizer and beer <—- dinner out, courtesy of Mr. FeistyEats

Wednesday:

B: Subway breakfast muffin
L: Jalapeno pepper stuffed chicken (recipe coming) with roasted veggies
S: summer sausage
D: sausage and kraut with salad

Thursday:

B: Denver egg bake
S: 1 oz. cashews
L: leftover kraut, salad and cottage cheese
D: Taco salad, cheese quesadilla

And now it is Friday – another egg breakfast, some leftovers and then onto whatever each person wants to eat.

I just wanted to give you an idea of what I did for one week to eat a bit more healthy. Although, you will see – this is all GOOD food. I can tell you the scale did reflect losses for both me and Mr. FeistyEats. Now, to keep it up. The weekends are really our downfall. We just let things slide. I have no meal plan for next week. But I do know my weekend will include a dessert, but I hope to watch my intake more carefully and just eat more mindful. That is all – kind of a different post. Again – WOW! Hats off to anyone making every meal at home for just you, you and a spouse or a family. Lots of work!!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Grilling, Informational, Main Dish, Misc, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

