Grilled and Glazed Carrots

I think we need some veggies after Easter, right? Or am I the only one who subsisted on Reese’s Peanut Butter eggs (my favorite!), pastel chocolates and lots of carbs?

IMG_1250

I am very, very much looking forward to summer and camping. In preparation, I have been looking up more and more BBQ and grilling recipes. When warmer weather arrives, I probably won’t be baking as much. I found a few good websites and hope to keep collecting recipes to use throughout this summer. This isn’t just a dessert blog; I just have been making a lot of desserts lately. And, I am getting a little burnt out on it. I will never get tired of baking – I am just ready to focus on something else for a bit.

IMG_1242

Like veggies. I love veggies. Especially on nice, sunny days.

IMG_1244

And dogs. On any day of the week. Hello Winston – you are looking quite regal and very furr-alicious today.

IMG_1245

Recipe via Patio Daddio – a great man-friendly website with tons of great grilling recipes.

Anyway, how easy is this recipe? Only 3 ingredients? Sold.

Ingredients
6 carrots (cut as equal in size as possible)
1/8 cup Balsamic vinegar
1/8 cup Honey
Method
Combine the balsamic and honey in a small bowl, whisk to combine and set aside.
Peel, trim and slice the carrots in half horizontally. You don’t really need to peel carrots if you wash them thoroughly, but I like a peeled look of a carrot better.
Put them in a zip-top bag and seal, leaving about an inch unsealed.
Cook the carrots on high in the microwave for two minutes, or until they are slightly flexible. (Note, I did this for about 2 minutes and then 3 minutes after they had cooled.) This shortens the grilling time greatly.
Note: You may need to adjust the cooking time depending on the size of your carrots and the power of your microwave.
Grill the carrots on a medium-high grill (about 400*) for three minutes.
Flip them over, brush them with the glaze and continue grilling another three minutes.
Remove the carrots to a platter and brush them with the glaze.
Serve and enjoy.

IMG_1246IMG_1247

I grilled my carrots the same time I was grilling up some bison burgers. A side note on those – we purchased them at Hazen Meats and at $8+ per pound they were a bit spendy but they were SO, SO delicious.

IMG_1248

I served my carrots on the side of a HUGE cheeseburger salad. My favorite way to eat a cheeseburger – on a bed of lettuce with tomatoes, pickles, onions and dressed with ketchup, mustard and a bit of mayo.

IMG_1249

Oh, I also had a small twice baked potato warmed on the grill. This is an excellent summer/spring meal.

IMG_1251

The honey gives the carrots extra sweetness and the balsamic vinegar a nice tang. And grilled anything is great. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

