Inside Out German Chocolate Cake

Ah! My first paying baking gig. Sort of. OK, I was definitely paid under $10.01 but above $9.99. I cashed that check and sent it off to my cute little Godson. He definitely deserves it. I was still pretty proud of that check though! Anyway, where I work, there were a few things that were being celebrated and I was asked if I wanted to make a German Chocolate Cake. Being all calm and cool (at least in my head), I readily accepted. Then, I immediately thought to myself – OH NO! I have never made a German Chocolate cake! This isn’t something we really ate growing up! I only have 3 days to make this and 2 of those days I worked two jobs. I was in a crunch.

 

IMG_1224

So, I took up with my best friend Google, to look for some recipes using a boxed cake mix and a few shortcuts. I needed a simple recipe that could be prepared in advance, but one that also stayed moist.

IMG_1205

I came across the recipe from Barbara Bakes and made a few twists on it. When people go on about their recipes and how good they are, I believe them. I thought this would be the winner for sure. Barbara seemed to really like it. I also liked that it used almonds instead of pecans or walnuts.

German Chocolate Cake

1 package German chocolate cake mix
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350º. Mix the cake mix, buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla in a large mixing bowl on low speed for one minute until combined. Beat at medium speed for two minutes more. Pour into two greased cake pans and bake as instructed on the package. Allow to cool completely before removing cake.

 
Coconut-Almond Filling

1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup evaporated milk
2 eggs, beaten
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 (7 oz. package) sweetened flaked coconut
1 cup sliced almonds
Lightly toast your almonds and coconut in the oven in advance of preparation. Allow to cool completely. Combine butter, sugar, evaporated milk and eggs in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, for about 12 minutes or until thickened. Add vanilla, coconut and almonds. Cool to room temperature before frosting cake. You must stir constantly so you don’t scramble your eggs. Trust me.

Chocolate Ganache

1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Heat whipping cream to a gentle boil. Remove from heat and dump in your chocolate chips. Let sit for 10 minutes then mix together until smooth and until it thicken up. Pour as much as you want over your cake. I have some leftover.

IMG_1206IMG_1207

So here is what I did. I went shopping Tuesday on my lunch break at Krause’s to get my supplies. I then quickly baked the cake and let it cool Tuesday overnight. The cake needed to go to work Thursday a.m. 

IMG_1210

Next up, get up early on Wednesday to make your Coconut-Almond filling.

IMG_1211IMG_1212

Toast your almonds and your coconut. This really brings out the flavor of each of these ingredients.

IMG_1213

I am on a coconut kick lately. Originally, I bought some coconut for the Coconut Cream Cupcakes I made, and now, I am just on a mission to use it all up. I have one more coconut recipe after this and then we will move on to something else. I promise.

IMG_1215

Set aside and cool the nuts and coconut. I mixed together the other ingredients (remember to stir constantly – we don’t want scrambled eggs) and let them cool separately in the fridge during the day. I left the lid ajar on the coconut and almonds and let them cool all day as well. The next morning (Thursday), I mixed together the coconut/almonds and cooled milk mixture to get ready to frost/fill my cake. I was so nervous at this point on if this cake would turn out. I tasted the frosting/filling and thought it was good, but I was still scared it would flop.

IMG_1216IMG_1217

To make this cake easier for me. I decided to have the German Chocolate cake be inside out. I would put all the filling between the two cake layers and cover it in chocolate because that would be easy and take no time!

IMG_1218

So in goes the filling/frosting combo. It was early, so I had to use the flash.

IMG_1219

While the cake was sitting filled to the brim, I got to work on the ganache.

IMG_1214

Simple. All you need it a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream.

IMG_1220

Put your cake on a piece of cardboard and on a wire rack. Drench liberally with your ganache. Allow the excess to drip off.

IMG_1221IMG_1223

Cream and chocolate? This is what we call a win-win friends.

IMG_1225

After my first layer of chocolate, I added another and that is why you see the ripple in the photo above. It is another layer of goodness chocolate. I crossed my fingers and took it to work. It smelled really good!

IMG_1227

I am happy to say it seems to have been a hit. I never actually had a piece! I did snap a couple photos of it at work before it was gone though.

IMG_1228

I had a few people tell me it was really good and someone even told me it was the best German Chocolate cake they had ever had! Wow! That is awesome. I am actually really shy in myself and my abilities – I hate to fail, basically. But I would definitely make this again.

And next time, I will eat a piece. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inside Out German Chocolate Cake

  1. barbarabakes says:

    Love your addition of ganache. So glad the cake was a big hit. Thanks for the link love.

  2. metrea says:

    this looks good

Leave a Reply

