Scotcharoo Bars

Sar-etzels and Jod-aroos. No, I am not typing this in a weird language. That was my idea a few years ago to open an online business selling Sar-etzels and Jod-aroos. I would make the Sar-etzels, which are chocolate and candy coated pretzels. I was really into making these pretzels a while back and I though of so many fun combinations to sell. They would be called Sar-etzels – Sarah’s Pretzels. The other part of the business would be the Jod-aroos – Jodi’s scotcharoos. My sister, Jodi, isn’t exactly known as an adventurous chef or eater. But I swear, she makes THE BEST scotcharoo bars. Who doesn’t like scotcharoos? And who could pass up a candy coated pretzel? Sar-etzels and Jod-aroos would have a weird, catchy name and tasty treats that would leave you wanting more. Of course, this idea never materialized and I haven’t even made candy coated pretzels in a long time.

IMG_1125

However, these no-bake, easy, yummy treats are a household favorite. No matter how fancy of a dessert I can think of or bake up, Mr. FeistyEats always requests these simple treats.

IMG_1103

I know some people really like Rice Krispie treats with the marshmallows, but my family thinks these are far superior! Smile

Here is what you need:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup (plus an extra squirt
  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • 6 cups of crispy rice cereal

Boil together the corn syrup and sugar until it just come to a roiling boil. Remove from heat and add the peanut butter. Melt it into the sugar mix. Add 6 cups of cereal and press into a cake pan sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Easy peasy.

IMG_1104IMG_1105

I think we have all had a scotcharoo that really looked good, but then was rock hard? That is a tragedy right there friends. I asked my sister her secret, and she said you add in an extra squirt of corn syrup. I also read online that you don’t want to boil the sugar mixture too long. You basically, just want to get the sugar dissolved into the corn syrup. Mix the peanut butter in until it melts and you have a wonderful thing, friends.

IMG_1107

I had to grab my camera and snap the picture of this cute little cat. She isn’t supposed to be on the chair and knows it. But it is so cute how her little head can just see over the counter to check what I am doing. She certainly hates not being in on all the action. Brinklie is most certainly a Feisty Cat.

IMG_1108

Make sure you mix the cereal in well so every piece is coated and press the mixture into you pan right away before it sets.

IMG_1110IMG_1111

You might have noticed I have been baking a lot. I do certainly enjoy baking the most and recently Mr. FeistyEats celebrated a big birthday. To celebrate, one of the things I did was make FIVE things – one per day, for him to take to work. This was no easy feat seeing as I work all day and then two of those nights I work another job. But I was determined to do this. Here is what I cooked up for him.

  1. Monday – Monster Cookie Bars
  2. Tuesday – Chocolate-Peanut Butter Marshmallow Lunch Box Bars
  3. Wednesday – Mint Fudge Cake
  4. Thursday – Snickers Cupcakes
  5. Scotcharoos

IMG_1112IMG_1113

To make the frosting – just melt 1/2 bag of chocolate chips and 1/2 bag of butterscotch chocolate chips together on your stovetop, or in the microwave. I also add in a big spoon of peanut butter for a little extra something. Let the frosting set up. This is the most difficult part. I just want to dig in ASAP.

IMG_1122IMG_1123

Cut into bars to share with your friends. These can easily be made a few days in advance and stored in your fridge. That is one of the reasons I made this for Friday as I could get it prepared earlier in the week.

IMG_1124

I have never met a person who doesn’t love a scotcharoo. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scotcharoo Bars

  1. Pingback: White Chocolate Rice Krispy Treats | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

