Mint Fudge Cake

This is a cake from my childhood. Our next door neighbor, Lori, used to make this cake and when my sister emailed me the recipe, I knew I would make it soon. I don’t have many photos of the middle as this went to work with Mr. FeistyEats but let me explain – the cake layer is a moist white cake with a mint flavor to it, a thin chocolate layer and a fluffy, minty green cool whip top. Stick this in your fridge and you have a great dessert for spring. Never mind that snow that recently fell here.

IMG_1137

You can just barely pick up the mint tint here.

IMG_1097

Mint Fudge Cake
1 package white cake mix
1 package sugar-free instant vanilla pudding
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla
4 eggs
2/3 cup oil
1 cup water
3 Tbs. creme de menthe syrup
Green food coloring – several drops (optional)
1 – 16 oz can Hershey’s Fudge Topping (or syrup)
Topping
1 – 8 oz Cool Whip
1 Tbs creme de menthe syrup
2 drops food coloring
Dump all the cake ingredients into a bowl and mix with a stand or hand mixer for 2 to 2 1/2 minutes. Time yourself if you have to. Add a few drops of green food coloring to tint if you remember. Pour into greased 9×13 inch pan. Bake according to directions on package. Let cake cool completely. For topping: spread can of Hershey’s Fudge topping over the cake. Mix cool whip and 1 tbsp creme de menthe and 2 drops green food coloring. Spread over the fudge topped cake. Refrigerate. HINT: This is a fun cake to make for St Patty’s Day.

IMG_1098IMG_1099

My two helpers: Winston nearby in case anything falls to the floor and I busted the cat getting onto the table. She is so naughty.

IMG_1100

This picture is totally out of focus, but the star of this cake it this Crème de Menthe syrup. You can find in with the other ice cream toppings.

IMG_1101IMG_1102

I forgot to add food coloring to the cake mix, but you can tell from the Crème de Menthe there is still a green tint. Food color would take it to the next level though.

IMG_1109

Bake and let cool completely.

IMG_1135

This is all you need for the topping! So easy. I used Hershey’s Syrup, but the recipe calls for Hershey’s fudge topping. Whoops. This still worked.

IMG_1136

Spread the fudge or syrup all over the top of the cake. I tried not to let it spill over the sides. I just used the Cool Whip container to mix in the mint and food coloring. Easy.

IMG_1139

Spread evenly over the top and refrigerate. This is such a good cold cake.

IMG_1150

Mr. FeistyEats was kind enough to bring me back one small piece. It was delicious. I am a huge mint fan so this was something I really enjoyed.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

