Chocolate-Peanut Butter Marshmallow Lunch Box Bars

Wow! Quite, the title, right? Well, don’t worry. Typing in the title was more difficult that making these bars.

IMG_1094

Hey! Another layered bar recipe on my site. I guess I have a type. I do prefer to make bars. I feel cookies can be so time consuming. And I loved this recipe because it made enough for a jelly roll pan. I knew I would be sending these for Mr. FeistyEats birthday week and I thought the more, the better! I wish my knife wasn’t already dirty when I cut this one, otherwise you would be able to see the 3 distinct layers better. The top is very fudgy and smeared on my knife some. I could have cleaned it off between cuts, but I am lazy! Smile Here is how they are made!

IMG_1071

Another easy ingredient list and another great recipe from TastyKitchen!

Ingredients

  • FOR THE BASE LAYER:
  • ¾ cups Butter (soft)
  • 1-¼ cup Granulated Sugar
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1-⅓ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Dutch Cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon Espresso Powder(optional)
  • ½ cups Chopped Nuts (optional)
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPINGS:
  • 5 cups Miniature Marshmallows (I used 1 bag of normal sized marshmallows)
  • 1-⅓ cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1-¼ cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 2-½ cups Crisp Rice Cereal

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 10×15 jelly roll pan.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until fluffy.

Combine remaining ingredients and then add to creamed mixture. Mix well to combine.

Spread mixture into pan. It may seem a bit thin, but just smooth it out. It will puff up when baking, and the remaining layers will make for a good-size bar. Bake at 350F for 18 minutes or until set. Immediately after pulling it from the oven, sprinkle marshmallows evenly over the cake/brownie layer. Return to the oven for two minutes.

Remove from oven and place on cooling rack, gently “smush” the softened marshmallow down with greased fingers to flatten slightly. Cool for 15 minutes.

Mix together the chocolate chips and peanut butter in a microwave-safe bowl. Using short bursts of power, heat the mixture, stirring every 30 seconds until the chips are melted and mixture is smooth. Add in the crisp rice.

Drop the mixture by spoonfuls over top of the cooled marshmallow layer. Spread gently with an offset spatula.

Place pan in refrigerator until chocolate is set, then cut into 24 (or more) generous bars. Keep in an airtight container in the fridge, for a firmer, fudge-ier bar…Or store covered at room temperature for a softer bar.

Freezes very well.

IMG_1072IMG_1073

Begin by mixing up the base layer. Naturally, I tasted the batter and it was GOOD.

IMG_1074

The base layer is thin, just be sure to spread it out evenly and then bake.

IMG_1076

This is what you need for the middle and top layers. I did not have mini marshmallows, so I took the time to cut my large marshmallows. In the end, I don’t think it matters, they soften in the oven and you can smoosh them down anyway.

IMG_1077IMG_1078

What you want to do is spread the marshmallows on the warm cake layer as soon as it comes out of the oven.

IMG_1079IMG_1080

Put it back in the oven for a few minutes and the marshmallows will puff up and melt. I just sprayed some cooking spray on my fingers to evenly press down on the warm marshmallows to make sure they were evenly distributed and covered the whole base layer.

IMG_1081IMG_1082

Your topping is made on the stovetop and I just tried to spoon it onto the (cooled) marshmallow layer somewhat evenly.

IMG_1084IMG_1085

Smooth it out with a spatula and stick this in the fridge to set up.

IMG_1083

Let the dog outside. He is tired from “helping” you.

IMG_1086IMG_1087

But not as tired as the cat? She is either lazy or crazy. No in between really.

IMG_1089IMG_1090

I sent this to work with Mr. FeistyEats, but I had to try a corner. I know my Mom must have made these before as they tasted familiar. Kids would love these, but I also liked them. Smile

IMG_1091

Chocolate base, marshmallow middle and a crunch peanut-buttery topping. Out of this world!

IMG_1093

Do it!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate-Peanut Butter Marshmallow Lunch Box Bars

  1. Stacy says:

    Oh Yeah, you can send these with Mr. Fiesty Eats to work ANYTIME!!

Leave a Reply

