Stromboli

Hi! I hope you enjoy this post today! This week is a little light because I am starting the celebration of Mr. FeistyEats 40th(!) birthday. He is 40 years young today. We are celebrating by going out for pizza and drinks with some friends. I have been doing little things all week to help him celebrate and future posts will reflect what I have done, or made for him. I can’t believe he is 40! I also can’t wait to help him celebrate tonight and next weekend when we stay a weekend away. Onto the post…

Have you ever eaten Stromboli? Or made it? Or even heard of it? According to Wikipedia.com, Stromboli is a type of turnover filled with various cheeses, Italian meats or vegetables. My Mom has been making us this good, good food for years. Ever since she has had her bread machine, which has been a long time. I’m not sure what started her with the Stromboli but it is good. She made it for us one night when we were over visiting and I took a few photos to show you the process. Like pizza, you could use any fillings or cheese you like.

IMG_1030

Start with your pizza dough. Homemade is best, but use whatever you have. Roll it out to your desired preference. My Mom always makes it to the size of her pizza pan and then folds it in half. You could also do it in a rectangular shape if you don’t have a pizza pan.

IMG_1031IMG_1032

She always fills our with salami, onions and shredded cheese. Again, stick whatever you want in there. Oh my mouth is watering right now thinking of this!! Only cover half of your dough.

IMG_1029

Then, you want to fold the dough over and seal the edges. Stick this baby in a cold oven. I believe Mom sticks hers in a cold oven and then heats it to 500!

IMG_1033

When it comes out of the oven, still hot. My mom brushes on some butter and it melts into the dough for a salty, buttery, rich tasting crust. Cut into sticks or pie pieces.

IMG_1034

See the cheesy middle? So YUM. Even if you think you don’t care for salami, try it this way. Trust me.

IMG_1035

We like to serve ours on the fine china with warm pizza sauce for dipping and cold beer for washing it down. Enjoy! Give this technique a try. Kids and adults love it!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stromboli

  1. Faye Krumwiede says:

    How long is the stromboli baked at 500?

  2. Feisty Eats says:

    For her dough, it takes about 15 minutes. You just have to watch it closely so it doesn’t burn!

Leave a Reply

