Strawberry Oatmeal Bars

I always kind of think fruit doesn’t belong in desserts, at all. While this isn’t fruit (jelly in the middle), it was the same concept. I am not sure how I feel about that. But, when I saw these bars on the Food Network, I knew I had to have them.

IMG_1056

These are SO easy to make. They take just a few minutes to put together with easy ingredients. You probably note that I say that a lot, but that is the way I like to cook and bake. No weird things that are really expensive, or not readily available in Hazen at our little supermarket.

IMG_1043

When I saw this recipe on Food Network (thanks for DVR’ing that Mom – she is more up on technology that I am) I KNEW I would make this soon. These are still a dessert, but a little more healthy that many desserts I have recently made. I also used sugar free strawberry preserves, so that helped as well.

  • 1 3/4 sticks salted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I added this, it wasn’t in the original recipe, but I thought it was a great addition)
  • One 10 to 12-ounce jar strawberry preserves (or whatever flavor you like of jam, jelly, etc.)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter or spray a 9-by-13-inch rectangular pan.

Mix together the butter, flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Press half the oat mixture into the prepared pan. Spread with the strawberry preserves. Sprinkle the other half of the oat mixture over the top and pat lightly. Bake until light brown, 30 to 40 minutes. Let cool completely, and then cut into squares.

IMG_1044IMG_1045

Looks at FeistyCat Brinklie! What a weird cat.

IMG_1046IMG_1047

I thought it worked well and was really easy to put the crust ingredients into the food processor. If you have one, do it this way. If not, a hand or stand mixer would work just fine.

IMG_1048

Eyeball half of the oatmeal and press it into the bottom of a cake pan.

IMG_1049

Snap a photo of your handsome dog. Nice eyebrows Winston! Looking good buddy.

IMG_1050IMG_1051

Spread on your jelly or preserves and crumble the rest of the oatmeal mixture on top.

IMG_1052IMG_1053

This smells a.maz.ing baking in your oven! I baked mine for closer to 40 minutes.

IMG_1054

I cut these into 30 bars and took the middle piece because I am a brat like that.

IMG_1055IMG_1060

These were great warm and were also good at room temperature. I bet kids would like these as an after school snack. It seems like anything I have made like this – crust, middle and sprinkled topping is always good. Why is that? It is like a dessert sandwich sort of?

IMG_1061

Make these now. They are worth it! The photos don’t do these goodies justice. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strawberry Oatmeal Bars

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Oatmeal Bars | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

