Artichoke & Spinach Dip

Here is another recipe I made in my Mom’s kitchen! I doubled this for a Superbowl party and a card party. It made a lot!

IMG_1000

Artichoke and Spinach Dip, based off a recipe from Allrecipes.com

  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 10 oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 13-15 oz. can artichoke hearts, drained, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 15 oz. jar garlic Alfredo pasta sauce
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 8 ounce package cream cheese, softened

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place garlic in tinfoil and sprinkle with salt and olive oil. Cover and bake for 30 minutes. Remove and let cool. Once cooled, remove from skins by pinching and mash garlic into a paste-like substance. It smells really good. In a large bowl, mix together the garlic, spinach, artichoke hearts, Alfredo sauce, mozzarella cheese and cream cheese thoroughly. Spread into an 8×8 baking dish and top with Parmesan cheese. Bake for 30 minutes, until dip is melted, bubbly and starting to brown. Serve warm with garlic bread, chips and/or veggies.

IMG_1011

By roasting the garlic, you take away the strong bite of it and are left with a mellow, wonderful garlic taste. Roasted garlic wins every time over raw.

IMG_1015IMG_1016

Be sure to drain your spinach well, rinse and chop your artichokes as well. Mix everything together. I used a hand mixer, but it isn’t necessary. By the way, this was a double batch, that is why you see so much!

IMG_1017

Muah, ha, ha. Look at that little rat face trying to get a sniff of the dip! So cute!

IMG_1018IMG_1020

My Mom is trying to give her a piece of cheese. Not good! Get off of the chair silly cat.

IMG_1038IMG_1039

Anyway, you want to bake this until it bubbles and is warm throughout. I turned on the broiler for about 3 minutes, just to get the top nice and golden brown. As I said, I made a double batch but I think a single might also fit in a cake size pan, depending on how thick you would like this.

IMG_1040IMG_1041

I took my dip to a Superbowl party. I would give it two thumbs up. Obviously, it is a pretty naughty treat, but it was tasty. Smile 

IMG_1042

I took my dip over to the party in this trusty travel case with some garlic bread to use as a dipper. This carry case worked great and the dip was still hot when I got there!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

