Easy spiced fajita salad

Are there any other salad lovers out there? I really, really love salad. I can take about any main dish and put it on a salad and I am good to go. A cheeseburger? Salad form please. Why not make a fajita into a salad?

IMG_0961

I was reading one of my Rachael Ray cookbooks and decided to take one of her fajita recipes and twist it into what I had on hand and make it into a salad.

IMG_0954

Fajita Salad:

  • for the marinade:
    • 3 Tbsp. Louisiana hot sauce
    • 2 Tbsp. ground cumin
    • 2 Tbsp. chili powder
    • 1 tsp. dried thyme
    • 1 tsp. dried oregano
    • 1/2 bottle of dark beer
  • for the meat:
    • 1 to 1.5 pounds of steak, chicken breast, or in my case, venison steak – sliced thin
  • for the veggies:
    • 1 large onion, sliced
    • 1 green pepper, sliced
    • a tub of mixed greens
  • for the toppings:
    • salsa
    • shredded cheese
    • ranch dressing
    • any other veggies you might prefer

I am not sure how I missed this step, but put together your marinade in a bowl and throw in your meat, sliced thinly. It seems like the large measurements of spices can be daunting, but that is what makes this recipe, in my mind. Don’t be afraid of spice. The mix of these spices was so much more refreshing than the spice packets you can buy in the grocery store, chock full of sodium. I used a Sam Adams type of beer for the marinade. It is best to use a darker beer with spices. Skip on any domestic beers, they won’t bring in much for flavor.

IMG_0958

I started by putting in a little olive oil in a pan and getting it screaming hot. I added the green peppers first and then the onions to sauté them.

IMG_0959

You want them to cook down and get some nice brown color on them. Remove to a bowl and set aside while you brown your meat.

IMG_0960

The meat gains a nice color from that spiced marinade.

IMG_0962IMG_0965

I topped my bed of salad with the veggies, meat and then put on some shredded cheese and salsa. Mr. FeistyEats went the traditional route and put his in a whole wheat tortilla.

IMG_0963

I felt like a little bit of ranch dressing on my salad would be good to bring a bit more flavor and sauce to the dish.

IMG_0964

AND, after I took this photo, I proceeded to dump about 1/4 of a bottle of ranch dressing on this. Legit, at least 1/4 of a bottle. On accident, of course. Luckily, it was in one spot and I was able to salvage most of the meal. Doh!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

