Sugar Cookie Bars

Do you like sugar cookies? I do. My grandmother makes the best sugar cookies of anyone I know. My whole family can vouch for that. I have tried to make frosted sugar cookies and they just don’t measure up. However, I came across this recipe and it is a GREAT alternative to cookies. I mean, really. They are cookies in a bar form. That means, no rolling out dough, using a cookie cutter, baking several dozen, etc. These are so easy!

IMG_1025

Note the frosting to bar ratio. Perfect.

IMG_0996IMG_0997

But first, I decided to make these bars at my parents house after we decided to go visit them overnight. It is always fun to bake in someone else’s kitchen. Our winter in ND has been fairly non-existent (that is not a complaint), but this morning, we were greeted by winter’s best feature: frosted trees. I think they are so gorgeous.

IMG_0998

The frost and the cold Missouri river kind of make a pretty, yet eerie scene. Gorgeous, nonetheless.

IMG_1001

Another good deal on these bars? Simple ingredients mixed in one bowl.

Sugar Cookie Bars via Crunchy Rock
Ingredients:
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
5 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Directions:
1. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy.
2. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
3. Meanwhile, mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.
4. Add the vanilla to the creamed mixture and then slowly add the dry ingredients.
5. Press into a greased 13 x 18 inch (jelly roll) pan and bake at 375F for 10-15 minutes.
6. Cool and frost (see directions below).

Frosting Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup shortening
1 teaspoon vanilla
pinch of salt
4 cups powdered sugar
5 tablespoons of milk
food coloring (optional)
sprinkles (optional)
Directions:
1. In a mixing bowl, beat the shortening and butter until creamy.
2. Add the vanilla and powdered sugar.
3. Gradually add the 5 tablespoons of milk until you reach your desired constancy.
4. For the sprinkles, I found that they rolled all over the place. To help this, place a sheet of plastic wrap over the frosted sugar cookies and gently press the sprinkles into the frosting.
5. Chill and cut.

IMG_1002

Hi from my Mom’s kitchen! She was kind enough to take this photo of me creaming the butter and sugars together with her lovely Kitchen Aid hand mixer. It worked wonderfully.

IMG_1003IMG_1005

After quickly following the directions, you just need to press the dough into a greased jelly roll pan. I baked these for about 16 minutes until the middle was just set. They looked a lot like a big cookie. Weird, huh?

IMG_1004

My parents had just returned from a month-trip around the southern United States and they were sweet enough to bring me back some Mexican Vanilla. It is so good! Good thing too, I had ran out of the stuff my grandma had bought for me a while back. Thanks Mom!

IMG_1006IMG_1007

Meanwhile, we also brought Winston and FeistyCat Brinklie to see their grandparents. They had no trouble making themselves at home. They love it here, especially Winston as he can run around anywhere he wants outside and the neighbors have a springer he plays with.

IMG_1008

I took this photo because I thought she looked like a little statue sitting there. So cute!

IMG_1009IMG_1010

OK, back to the food. You need some more butter, Crisco (no substitutes!) and other traditional frosting ingredients. This comes together in no time.

IMG_1012IMG_1013

Frost your bars, covering as much of the edges as possible. I decided to put some sprinkles on top, just for fun. You could also use coloring if you wanted to tint your frosting. Like say, pink for Valentine’s Day for your sweetie.

IMG_1014

The bars after frosting them. Make sure they are cooled completely! I stuck them outside to firm up. A cold fridge would work too. Smile 

IMG_1021IMG_1022

OK, after cooling the bars, cut them as evenly as you can. Not my strong point, for sure. This is a large pan and makes a lot of cookies. This would be a great thing if your kid needs to take some treats to school.

IMG_1024

My hand model with a bar. Love the sprinkles!

IMG_1026IMG_1027

Get in my belly.

IMG_1028

Once again, the middle bars are my favorite. I really liked these and would make them again and again. Great recipes, easy to throw together. Generally people pleasing. Make these if you like those Lofthouse style frosted cookies you see at the grocery store!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar Cookie Bars

  1. Kate says:

    Sarah I love your Feisty eats website. Your story that goes along with what ever you are making cracks me up. The picture of you turned out cute. These bars are awesome the boys will be getting them for coffee break some time this year. Love ya Sarah .

Leave a Reply

