Chili-Corn Chip Pie

Hi guys! So, I found this recipe in the 2011 October issue of Cooking Light that was handed down to me. I think it is great to dog-ear magazines and come back to some that you thought were interesting. I only dog-ear those that I know I have ingredients for and the want to cook or bake. This caught my eye because I am always looking for ways to use burger (other than a casserole or hamburgers) and I still had corn chips left from that huge bag I bought at Pamida a few months back. Aggghh!

IMG_0719

Let me say, that I liked this recipe. It is in Cooking Light, so I guess it is somewhat good for you. I had two issues with it: 1) it isn’t a pie and 2) there is no chili in the recipe. I think it would be better with chili powder added in. Regardless, I liked this and would make it again. It was way better after sitting overnight and reheated for my lunch the next day. Why is that with any chili?

IMG_0713

The case of characters is pretty easy. This recipe is adapted from Cooking Light and my changes are as below:

Chili-Corn Chip Pie (The recipe notes this is a healthier take on Fritos Chili Pies or the Tacos in a Bag you see so often around here)

  • 1 lb. ground sirloin
  • 1 large chopped onion
  • 1/4 of a green pepper, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 t. ground cumin
  • 1/2 t. ground red pepper
  • 2 T. tomato paste
  • 1 c. beef broth (I used one beef bullion cube dissolved in water)
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 10 oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles, undrained (aka Rotel)
  • NOTE: I would add in a good teaspoon or two of chili powder if you make this again

All Optional Toppings:

  • 1 hefty pinch of chopped cilantro
  • Corn chips (original recipe calls for 3 ounce for 4 servings)
  • 1/3 c. shredded cheese
  • 1/4 c. fat free sour cream
  • 1/2 c. diagonally sliced scallion tops
  • Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add beef to pan; cook and crumble until brown. Remove beef and drain well. Wipe pan clean with paper towels. Add onion to pan; sauté 4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; sauté 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in beef, cumin and pepper. Stir in tomato paste; cook 1 minute, stirring occasionally. Add broth, water and tomatoes with juices; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium, and simmer 15 minutes or until slightly thick, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

    Place chili mixture in bowl and top with the optional toppings of: Fritos, cheese, more cilantro, tomatoes, salsa, olives, green onions, etc.

IMG_0714

Do you notice that I love almost any recipe that starts with chopped onion and garlic. Yum! Be sure not to throw you cell phone in the pot.

IMG_0715

I thought SIX cloves of garlic would be a bit much; but it was fine. I used my handy dandy Pampered Chef garlic mincer to do the trick. Also note that I throw in my onions, peppers and garlic with the beef. We have extremely lean beef with no need to drain it. I would not do this if you have a fattier beef chuck mix. Drain it first as instructed above. Also please note that I have since lost both of those bracelets since I made that chili. Goodbye $0.05. Together, that is.

IMG_0716

I added in my seasonings after the beef was cooked. No fat pooled in this beef. See my dog-eared magazine to the right?

IMG_0717

After adding the paste and liquids, you want this to simmer and thicken up. I did this to show you how “watery” mine was. Don’t worry about it – it will thicken up.

IMG_0718

Toppings include Colby or Pepper Jack cheese and sour cream. It would be great with cilantro if you are into that sort of thing. I used to hate it and now I am in L.O.V.E. with it. Weird, right?

IMG_0720

This reheated well and was so much better the next day for lunch.

IMG_0721

AND, if you don’t care about healthy, pile on the corn chips and cheese! Don’t add beans though. Gross.

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chili-Corn Chip Pie

Leave a Reply

