Bark, bark, bark

This is some easy to make for anyone who does not like to, or thinks they cannot bake. No oven required. Not even the stove. You just need a microwave and a few ingredients.

IMG_0708

From left: Oreo cookie bark, pretzel bark and creamy peanut butter crisp bark.

IMG_0695

You only need a few ingredients: 1 row of Oreo cookies, about 1 cup of crisped rice cereal, plain pretzels, peanut butter and one pack each of almond bark and chocolate almond bark. These easily microwaved barks are easy to work with and are popular around this time of year.

IMG_0696IMG_0697

I didn’t really have a specific idea of what to make with these barks and I thought it would be fun to make a few different barks using both the white and chocolate flavors. First, I melted 1/3 the dark package in the microwave. Just use a big knife to cut it up (it was 3 or 4 squares) and microwave it on high in 30 second increments. Watch it carefully. You do not want it to burn. Once it is melted, just spread it onto parchment sprayed with cooking spray. I added crushed up Oreos while it was still wet.

IMG_0698

Once the chocolate layer is hardened, you can drizzle on the melted almond bark and add some more cookie chunks. Just push them into the chocolate a bit so it sticks. Again, set it aside to cool.

IMG_0699

Same concept here, just using pretzels, so I didn’t document it step by step. Melt the chocolate, spread it, add crushed up pretzels and then I drizzled on white chocolate but did not add additional pretzels on top.

IMG_0700

Winston helped. Bah ha ha ha.

IMG_0701

I wanted to step back just to show you how much space this horse takes up. I don’t have a huge kitchen and he always has to lay in the middle of the busiest part on the rug. Oh, that dog. I still have to love him, even when he is super annoying.

IMG_0702

For the last batch, after I melted the white almond bark, I added in two Tbsp. of peanut butter and mixed it so it melted in nicely.

IMG_0703IMG_0704

Then, I placed it in cookie type shapes on the sprayed parchment and then added about 3/4 –1 cup of crisped rice cereal to the mix.

IMG_0705

Then I melted the chocolate and added it in between the white ‘cookies.’

IMG_0706

Finally, to mix it all up, I just took a knife through the mixture and swirled it.

IMG_0709

After the barks had all cooled off, cut them in any shape with a sharp knife. The peanut butter almond mixture took a while longer to cool, due to the peanut butter.

IMG_0711

These are fun and easy and make a neat presentation.

IMG_0712

I was partial to the peanut butter crisp ones (big surprise there) but I saw a certain little niece of ours particularly attracted to the Oreo ones. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

