Chicken Tortilla Soup

Hi. Welcome back to the real world. Well, not quite yet, actually. My work is closed today so I am sitting on my couch being lazy and it couldn’t be better. I have the two fur friends to keep me company.

IMG_0655IMG_0657

FeistyCat, look at the camera!

IMG_0656

After two weeks of indulgences and wonderful food; it will be nice to get back to more healthy and “normal” meals. Soup is one of my cold weather favorite meals. They are also a great way to eat up some vegetables. This is one of my favorite, spicy chicken soups. I call this chicken tortilla soup – but it isn’t like the kind you get at the Ground Round or another restaurant. It isn’t smooth and creamy, but chunky and only a bit creamy.

Spicy Chicken Tortilla Soup (not all the ingredients are pictured above – I was slacking this day)

In a large saucepan, sauté:

  • 1 chopped medium onion (about 1 cup) and
  • 2 minced garlic cloves (about 2 tsps) in
  • 2 tbsps vegetable oil
  • over low heat for 5 minutes until onion is softened.

  • Add one 4 ounce can green chiles — chopped
  • a can small chopped jalapenos
  • a 15-ounce can Italian-style stewed tomatoes (chopped and with their own juice)
  • a can of Rotel
  • a can of tomato sauce
  • a can of corn (I did not have this and used frozen mixed veggies instead, which was fine)
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsps worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp hot sauce, or more to taste
  • fresh cilantro

Simmer for 20 minutes.

In a small bowl, combine 4 tbsp flour with 1/2 cup water and whisk into soup. Bring the soup back to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes.

Add 1 pound skinless boneless chicken breasts, cut into small cubes.

Simmer for 5 minutes.

Stir in 1/3 cup non-fat sour cream, salt, and pepper to taste.

Garnish with tortilla chips, cheese, corn chips, more sour cream, cilantro, jalapenos, onions, etc – whatever you prefer.

IMG_0658IMG_0659

Starts with a large soup pot and sauté your onions and garlic. Add in green onions and jalapenos after they have softened a bit.

IMG_0660

After adding in your tomato products, add in a can of corn. In my case, I didn’t have a can of corn so I used some frozen mixed vegetables instead. They worked our surprisingly fine.

A note on the chicken in the back – the recipe calls for chopped, cooked chicken breast. I made some chicken thighs in the crock pot and just took off the skin and bones and that worked fine. That is a much cheaper alternative than chicken breasts.

IMG_0661

Me, cooking in action. Thanks to Mr. FeistyEats for snapping that photo.

IMG_0664IMG_0666

He also snapped these photos. He was pretending to be my paparazzi and was cracking me up.

IMG_0667IMG_0669

This recipe calls to add in some equal parts flour with water and bring the soup to a boil. This helps thicken up the soup. I also added in some light sour cream to make the soup a bit more creamy without adding a lot of fat to the pot.

IMG_0671

These small additions make a big difference to the soup.

IMG_0672

I threw a big tortilla with pepperjack cheese in the oven until it got nice and melted to serve as a dipper for our soup.

IMG_0675

I also topped mine with a few corn chips. Yum! Other topper possibilities are endless: cilantro, onion, jalapenos, more hot sauce, etc.

IMG_0673

This make a big batch and leftovers heat up nicely for work.

IMG_0674

Have a happy New Year. He is to 2012 being a great and healthy year.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

