Ham & Swiss Cheese Pull Aparts

Our wonderful neighbors invited us over for a holiday party a week or so ago. I was busy working both jobs, so I needed something quick to throw together that didn’t take much prep work or many ingredients. To the rescue, I went to the Pillsbury website. They have a lot of great, easy recipes. I came across this Festive Ham & Swiss Cheese wreath. I thought this was appropriate for the time of year and I could throw this together and bake it within an hour after work.

IMG_0694

Sadly, my wreath came out looking more like a snowflake, but, oh well! I think it still looked pretty great.

IMG_0676

Ham and Swiss Cheese pull aparts – adapted slightly from www.Pillsbury.com.
8 oz (2 cups) shredded Swiss cheese
1 1/2 cups (about 8 oz.) chopped cooked ham
1/3 cup sliced green onions
2 Tbsp. (heaping) honey mustard
2 cans of Pillsbury Layers refrigerated biscuits
1 egg, beaten
1 Tbsp poppy seed or sesame seed (optional)

Heat oven to 375, spray a large cookie sheet with cooking spray. In a large bowl, combine cheese, ham, onions and mustard. Mix well.

Separate 1 can of dough into biscuits. Leave the other in the fridge as they are easier to work with when they are cold, I think. Then, separate each biscuit into 2 layers and press the layers into flat 3″-3 1/2″ rounds.

Place 1 big Tbsp of cheese mixture on each dough round. Wrap dough around cheese mixture, pinching edges to seal. Repeat with the other can of biscuits.

I arranged 8 balls in the center, seam side down, almost touching and worked my way out until the biscuits were gone. Brush with egg wash once you are all done and top with sesame or poppy seeds if you have them.

Bake at 375 for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. Slide from cookie sheet to platter. Serve warm with honey mustard dipping sauce in the middle. Garnish with green onion fans or slices.

Call yourself a superstar!

IMG_0677

I caught the sous chef sleeping on the job! Again. Sigh.

IMG_0678IMG_0679

Mix together your Swiss cheese, ham, green onion and honey mustard. I did not have honey mustard in my fridge, but easily made some by mixing equal parts honey with regular yellow mustard.

IMG_0680

I think one reason my wreath was no perfectly circular is because the recipe originally called for Flaky Layers Jr. biscuits. Our small grocery store did not have those, but they did have the regular size ones. I am sure I could figure out the math to make it work into a circle, but actually, no. It isn’t like I work at a bank or something. Smile with tongue out 

IMG_0681

Anyway, work with the biscuits one can at a time so they stay cold. This is when they are easiest to work with. Split them in half. Since they are layer biscuits, this is super easy.

IMG_0682

This recipe worked out perfectly for me to use 1 big Tbsp. per biscuit half.

IMG_0683IMG_0684

Mark sure all the goodness gets wrapped on the side, pinch the seams together to form a ball and place seam-side down on a greased cookie sheet.

IMG_0685IMG_0686

Continue filling up your pan leaving a hole in the middle for your wreath or for your dipping sauce. On the right, we left one ball off to the side for taste testing purposes. We couldn’t very well bring a new item to the party we had not taste approved!

IMG_0687

Before baking, you put an egg wash on top so it gets golden brown. A nice touch would also be sesame seeds or poppy seeds. I swore I had sesame seeds but I must have thrown them out in an organizing rage one day. My spice rack is out of control, people.

IMG_0688

To garnish my wreath, I simply took a few extra green onions and sliced them length-wise a few times and placed them in ice water so they curled up. This works and is super fun and easy.

IMG_0690

Here is our sample we ate before the party. All the cheesy goodness is trapped inside.

IMG_0691

I think a few people were surprised when they bit into them!

IMG_0692

I garnished my try with the green onion “flowers” diced green onions and a few diced tomatoes for red color.

IMG_0693

The wreath was served with more honey mustard for dipping. This recipe is a keeper! It was good and would certainly be easy to make not in a wreath, or snowflake or any shape, but just as individual balls. Yummy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

