Mexican Dip–Corn Chips

Last weekend, my parents and another couple came over to our place in Hazen to play cards! I was pretty happy to have company. I figured I should probably make something to have as a snack.

IMG_0652

Earlier in the day I had purchased the 900 pound bag of corn chips you see below. Since then, I have been thinking of ways to use them up as you will see in upcoming posts. I figured this dip would go with them nicely.

IMG_0603

Mexican Dip – I made this one up, there are so many similar ones out there.

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 package taco seasoning mix
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • 1 can of Rotel (I used homemade), drained
  • 1 cup of sour cream (not pictured as I added as an afterthought)
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese – I used a Mexican blend
  • 1 small can of sliced black olives
  • Chopped tomatoes, jalapeno and green onion for garnish – cilantro would be great too

Brown your hamburger and drain if needed in a large pan. After it is drained, add in a package of taco seasoning and do what it tells you to do on the back of that packet. In a small saucepan, heat your refried beans, drained Rotel and 1 cup of your cheese. Just heat until the cheese melts. Pour the bean mixture into a 8×8 pan, top with sour cream, then hamburger and the rest of the cheese. Add black olives to the top if you are into that. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes. If you make it in advance, this will store covered in the fridge. You will then need to bake it for about 30 minutes.

Garnish with tomatoes, jalapeno and green onion. I did not do this because my Dad isn’t a fan of onions or heat. Smile

Call yourself a superstar!

IMG_0604

I saw this new (to me) type of beans with green chiles in them. Sold! I think this would be great in any dip using refried beans for a little zing.

IMG_0605

Brown your burger. This would be an ideal time to throw in some chopped onion as well. If it was just Mr. FeistyEats and I; I would probably use 1/2 to a whole onion. However, my Dad is not an onion fan, so I skipped it all together. I added the taco seasoning after it was browned along with the water called for on the packet.

IMG_0606

Into a small sauce pan goes the beans, drained Rotel and 1 cup of cheese. Stir this and watch as it will bubble violently if left alone. And then you are sad because you will have to clean up that icky mess.

IMG_0607

At this point, you can put the bean mix into the bottom of a pan. I decided late in the game to add some sour cream – maybe 1/2 to 1 cup. Spread it evenly over the bean mix.

IMG_0608IMG_0609

Add the hamburger and then top with the rest of the lovely cheese.

IMG_0610

Top with sliced black olives. I only did half as I am not a fan. Slimy and grody IMHO.

IMG_0611

We were meeting our friends elsewhere, so I just popped this in the fridge until we got snacky playing cards. It did take a bit longer to bake and heat through since it was cold, about 30 minutes.

IMG_0650

Top with sliced tomato, green onions and/or jalapenos. Serve with corn or tortilla chips. This heated up quite nicely the next day, even if it doesn’t look too great.

IMG_0651

The melted cheese parts are my favorite!

Cooking Tip: I saw a bunch of helpful tips in a magazine I read and thought I’d post a few to share.

If the word “chopped” comes before the ingredient, chop it before measuring, If it is listed after the ingredient, chop it after measuring.

I never knew this one and I am certain I have not followed it correctly. I am also certain it gets used incorrectly quite often. Good to know!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

