Tofu Shirataki!

OK, yes, this is FeistyEats website – you didn’t click somewhere else. I typically don’t post foods like tofu or things that are not easy or accessible, but give me a chance here. I found this tofu shirataki in the produce section at Krause’s here in Hazen. If it is in Hazen, I figured it must be pretty mainstream by now. Smile 

IMG_0550

I have heard of this food before online. As you can see from the package, the noodles have no cholesterol, no sugar, are gluten-free, vegan, 20 calories per serving, 3 carbs and 2g fiber per serving. Pretty sweet stats, right? This is the spaghetti version. I am not a huge noodle fan to begin with and I wanted to try this out first using a stir fry method.

From the all-knowing Wikipedia:

Shirataki are very low carbohydrate, low calorie, thin, translucent, gelatinous traditional Japanese noodles made from devil’s tongue yam (elephant yam or the konjac yam).[1] The word “shirataki” means “white waterfall”, describing the appearance of these noodles. Largely composed of water and glucomannan, a water-soluble dietary fiber, they have little flavor of their own.

Shirataki noodles can be found both in dry and soft “wet” forms in Asian markets and some supermarkets. When wet, they are purchased pre-packaged in liquid. They normally have a shelf life of up to one year. Some brands may require rinsing or par-boiling as the water they are packaged in has an odor that may be unpleasant to those not accustomed to it.

IMG_0561

Interesting. Here is what I did.

IMG_0551

I chopped up some vegetables to make a veggie stir fry – green onions, brussel sprouts, carrots and cabbage.

IMG_0552

I also added some eggs to scramble and include in the dish.

IMG_0553

I also mixed up the sauce for the stir fry using my old standby recipe.

IMG_0554IMG_0555

I sautéed my veggies in a large pan on high heat to get a little color on them. I used about 1 Tbsp. of oil and then once they had some color on them, I reduced the heat, added a little water and covered them to let them steam and cook through.

IMG_0556

I added the noodles with green onion to cook. I think you basically just warm them up. One note though: RINSE THEM THOROUGHLY! They had a very bad odor (almost fish-like) when I opened the package? I rinsed them well and it was gone. I was pretty nervous about the taste of these at this point.

IMG_0557

I added the eggs to the veggies. And then put the veggies and eggs back into the pan with the noodles.

IMG_0558

Add the sauce. Hello Winston!

IMG_0559

Mix, heat through and serve.

IMG_0560

I topped mine with sriracha hot sauce. Final verdict? It was actually pretty good! I was nervous to try the food and went in with a mindset it would suck. But it was good. I don’t think I will be running out and buying these to replace in any noodle dish I eat. But, for sure, I would use them in a stir fry again. They basically soaked up the sauce I put on and the texture was similar to any other noodle. I am glad I tried them. Give them a try in your stir fry for a low carb, low fat, healthier option!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

