Christmas is Coming!

We had what I would consider to be our first real snowfall this week. It was enough to be shoveled and it seems to be staying around. The flakes were big and fluffy and I loved it. Yes, you read that correctly. I actually really likes when it first snows, I think it is so pretty. It is true that I get sick of it after a few months and I think it is dreadful when spring comes and the snow is all dirty and icky. For now, though, I love it.

I had time to dig some Christmas decorations out and put up at our house for our first Christmas as Hazen citizens. I thought I’d share a few of them here.

IMG_0532

I’m not sure why I have only two placemats? So instead of setting them as a placemat, I just put them on the table. On the left is a little candy bowl Santa and on the right is a hot plate I received from my former boss. I really love that hot plate. In the middle is another treat tray I used and scored at Wal-Mart for $1 or $2! In the middle is just a vase with some blue and silver bulbs and a very cute JOY sign.

IMG_0533IMG_0534

On the left is a sweet snow globe I got from my friend Kristin. On the right is a cute snowman who appears to be melting. I like to sit this by our front door, but the dog and cat think it is a toy and try to eat it. So for now, he is by the TV.

IMG_0535

I received this snowman as a gift from someone I no longer talk to. Isn’t that the worst? But I love this little man and he is festive. I also like he is blue. I tend to really like the blue and silver Christmas décor.

IMG_0536

And the tree! At my Mom’s suggestion, I put the Christmas tree in our entryway. We have a large entryway with a big window looking outside. I thought it would be neat for people passing by to see our tree. We don’t put up any outside lights, so this would be a little neighborhood spark from our window. You can see all the lights are functioning just fine in this picture. Now, some of the lower lights are out. I suspect FeistyCat Brinklie got to them. Upon further inspection, she did indeed bite one off. Who knows where that is and how did she not get electrocuted? She won’t leave the dang thing alone. I tried to keep all the ornaments up high enough out of her reach, but I generally find a few a week on the floor.

IMG_0537

The tree again with the light on! I love that light in the entryway and in this photo it ALMOST looks like it is the star on the tree.

IMG_0538IMG_0539

A few more entryway buddies. The reindeer is nice because it rings whenever someone comes in.

IMG_0541

A miniature tree I put downstairs. Never mind that box on the side. Smile 

IMG_0595

And finally, this cute little jar. This was a gift we received at my husband’s work Christmas party and I just love it. Gumdrop layers on the bottom, then pistachios and finally chocolate covered nuts in a jar saying his company name. Very thoughtful.

I can’t wait to be with my family for Christmas. We always play games, eat, drink and tell stories. I don’t even care TOO much about the gifts – I just love being all together and no work or problems for a few days!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas is Coming!

  1. Lisa says:

    Our cat used to “eat” the lights on our tree also!! We always knew if they were out what happend. Sadly we no longer have her but she did chew thru most of the electrical stuff in our house. It was ALWAYS the stuff plugged in to outlets. Wondered why she had 250 lives!! The worst was when she chewed thru the power cord for our laptop!!

    Merry Christmas Ms Feisty!!

Leave a Reply

