Mint Brownies

IMG_0522

For sure, one of the best things to come out of my kitchen, in my opinion. I know not everyone would agree and not even Mr. FeistyEats agrees. He liked these, but he isn’t a mint fan like I am. Favorite ice cream? Mint chocolate chip. Andes mint chocolates? L.O.V.E. them. I am a mint fanatic. I first tasted these creamy, dreamy treats at Mr. FeistyEats parents wedding anniversary. His Mom’s BFF, Julie brought these. After my sister tasted them, she said she would marry whoever made this. HA HA! She is a riot, that girl. These 3-layer delicious treats might be worthy of a marriage proposal though!

IMG_0510

Luckily, Julie agreed to share her recipe with me. I then proceeded to make THREE pans of these. Don’t worry, they are for sharing. Here is what you need to do:

Ingredients for the bottom layer.

  • 3 sq. chocolate (I used semi-sweet Baker’s)
  • 2/3 c. oil
  • 2 c. brown sugar
  • 3 eggs, one at a time
  • 1 1/4 c flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. soda

Melt chocolate in 2/3 c. oil. Mix with other ingredients and spread in greased jelly roll pan. Bake at 350 for 15 min. Note: I thought this was a typo, but it is not. I baked mine for 15-17 minutes. You want them to stay gooey and they are thin, so they do get baked. Cool the bars before adding on the middle layer.

Middle Layer:

  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 2 T. cream
  • 2 sticks soft butter
  • 3 1/2 T. Crème de Menthe
  • 1/2 t. peppermint or mint extract

Beat all ingredients with mixer and spread over first layer. Refrigerate. When hard, put on top layer.

Top Layer:

  • 12 oz. chocolate chips
  • 4 T. oil

Melt chocolate chips in oil. Beat by hand. Spread on top. Cut into small bars.

IMG_0511

Side note, I love these Thanksgiving plates – I like them so much, I don’t even use them! How dumb am I? Oh well.

IMG_0512IMG_0513

The bottom layer is super easy to put together. Just melt the three squares of chocolate in the oil. Mix the other ingredients in a separate bowl and then add in the melted chocolate. Spread this mixture into a greased jelly roll pan. I made one with parchment paper, but I don’t think it was necessary.

IMG_0514IMG_0515

Cool the bars while putting together the easy middle layer.

IMG_0516IMG_0518

Again, cool the bars and allow the middle layer to harden up before you frost them.

IMG_0519IMG_0520

I like to drizzle the chocolate all over so you have to spread as little as possible. Even though the middle layer has hardened, the warm chocolate can obviously melt it.

IMG_0521

Allow the top chocolate layer to harden before you cut the bars. I simply cute off the side crispy parts so no one had to eat those pieces. I did find that Mr. FeistyEats prefers those pieces though, so they get taken care of one way or another. Smile

IMG_0523

Look at that layer of mint! I want to bathe in it. For real. If you are a mint lover, get up and go buy the ingredients for these. They WILL NOT disappoint. I mean, 2 sticks of butter for the filling? You cannot go wrong. These are pretty rich, so smaller bars are probably more appropriate. Fudgy, chewy bottom layer, creamy, fluffy middle layer and smooth, dark top layer? True love right there, friends. These are made in a jelly roll pan, so you get a lot of good bars to eat or share. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mint Brownies

  1. Dona says:

    I may have to try these – I absolutely love grasshopper pie & cake, so . . . .

Leave a Reply

