Christmas Whoopie Pie Cookies

It is 4 days past Thanksgiving and I am already thinking of Christmas treats. What can I say? I actually was testing this recipe out to take to a cookie swap at work. In my opinion, my Grannie Annie makes the best whoopie pie cookies. I even have her recipe for them. However, I saw one online that I wanted to give a shot. Even if I have my grannie’s recipe, I know I can never make them as good as hers. Why is that!?!

Anyway, what a funny name, right? Whoopie Pies? Well, I did a little investigating on Wikipedia and here is what they have to say about the origin of these cake cookies, filled with a delicious cream.

IMG_0495

“While considered a New England phenomenon and a Pennsylvania Amish tradition, they are increasingly sold throughout the United States. According to food historians, Amish women would bake these desserts (known as hucklebucks at the time) and put them in farmers’ lunch pails or lunch boxes. When farmers would find the treats in their lunch, they would shout “Whoopie!” It is thought that the original Whoopie pies may have been made from cake batter leftovers.”

Interesting, right? I wonder why anyone would have left over cake batter though! As stated, I got my recipe online. I am not going to share it because in the end, I felt the cookie was too thick and dry and the middle part not sweet enough. However, I think this is a great idea for a Christmas Cookie! Here is what I did.

IMG_0466

Gather your ingredients. Pretty simple list – which is why I was initially intrigued.

IMG_0467IMG_0468

Mix together water and cocoa.

IMG_0469IMG_0470

Cream together Crisco and sugar.

IMG_0471IMG_0472

Add dry ingredients. I still had high hopes at this time. The batter was pretty delicious.

IMG_0479IMG_0480

Drop by Tablespoon full and bake.

IMG_0481

Gather your ingredients for the filling. This was a very interesting recipe to me.

IMG_0483IMG_0484

You start by cooking together milk and flour. You have to watch this constantly though. Trust me. I had to throw out my first batch because I got sidelined doing other things. It thickens up quite nicely. You then need to let it cool completely before mixing with your other ingredients. This is the part where living in ND in the winter is nice – it takes no time to stick this outside and let it cool off!

IMG_0485

Also, make sure your cookies cool completely during this time.

IMG_0486IMG_0487IMG_0488IMG_0489

You add in the other ingredients (I added at least another 1 cup of powdered sugar that what the recipe called for as I thought it was not sweet enough.) You beat the heck out of this – probably at 5-7 minutes before it comes together nice and fluffy. Very fluffy!

IMG_0490IMG_0491

I divided my frosting in two batched and added some red food coloring and vanilla flavor to one dish and green food color and mint extract to the other dish.

IMG_0492IMG_0493

I then divided the cookies evenly and applied the filling.

IMG_0494

Top with your other cookie and you are done. I did appreciate that the recipe made exactly as many cookies as it called for and I had no frosting remaining. It was the perfect amount.

IMG_0497

I had to test the mint ones out right away. I put a few red sprinkles on the red whoopies as well. Like I said, great idea and concept, I just need a better cookie and filling recipe. Maybe I should attempt Grannie’s recipe?

IMG_0498

This recipe over at Epicurious sounds good as well. These were always a favorite treat of ours when Grandma baked them up. Enjoy if you try them. The mint and vanilla flavors were equally good. You could make any type of cake cookie and filling – I saw a lot of pumpkin cookies with cream cheese filling for Thanksgiving online. Smile

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Whoopie Pie Cookies

  1. Faye Krumwiede says:

    Could you give the measurements for the ingredients? Looks delicious & I would like to try making these. Thanks, Faye

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Sure Faye – here is the recipe I used. Again, I wasn’t super satisfied with it and I added at least 1 more cup of powdered sugar to the frosting. Good luck – this is from Taste of Home.

      Ingredients
      1/2 cup baking cocoa
      1/2 cup hot water
      1/2 cup shortening
      1-1/2 cups sugar
      2 eggs
      1 teaspoon Spice Islands® pure vanilla extract
      2-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
      1 teaspoon baking powder
      1 teaspoon baking soda
      1/4 teaspoon salt
      1/2 cup buttermilk

      FILLING:
      3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
      Dash salt
      1 cup 2% milk
      3/4 cup shortening
      1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
      2 teaspoons Spice Islands® pure vanilla extract

      Directions
      In a small bowl, combine cocoa and water. Cool for 5 minutes. In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, vanilla and cocoa mixture. Combine dry ingredients; gradually add to creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk, beating well after each addition
      Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto greased baking sheets. Flatten slightly with a spoon. Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes or until firm to the touch. Remove to wire racks to cool.
      In a small saucepan, combine flour and salt. Gradually whisk in milk until smooth; cook and stir over medium-high heat until thick, 5-7 minutes. Remove from heat. Cover and refrigerate until completely cool.
      In a small bowl, cream the shortening, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add milk mixture; beat for 7 minutes or until fluffy. Spread filling on half of the cookies; top with remaining cookies. Store in the refrigerator. Yield: 2 dozen.

      I split the filling in half and flavored half with vanilla and half with mint and added food coloring.

Leave a Reply

