Olive Bread

IMG_0474

Are you looking for an easy, (mostly) crowd-pleasing appetizer to serve on Thanksgiving? Look no further. I have seen various recipes of this cheesy olive bread and I finally decided to make it now that olives are on sale. Also, this was a great thing for me to make because I do not like olives, do I will not eat it. I think there are definitely two distinct camps – olive lovers and olive hates. This recipe and both green and black, but you could just use one or the other I imagine. If you have olive haters, stay away for sure.

IMG_0454

Olive Bread ingredients:

  • 1 jar green olives (regular size)
  • 1 jar black olives (regular size)
  • 2 cups of cheese – I used a Colby/Jack mix – you could use whatever you want
  • 3-4 sliced green onions
  • 1 stick of butter – room temp
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 loaf (or baguette if you are fancy) of bread – I used French bread

IMG_0455IMG_0456

First, you will want to chop both cans of lives and your green onion.

IMG_0457IMG_0458

In a large bowl, mix together the room-temperature butter, mayo and cheese.

IMG_0459IMG_0460

Once it is mixed well, add your olive/onion mix and MIX!

IMG_0461

It will gel together as you mix it.

IMG_0462

Oh FeistyCat, why you so ticked? Your life isn’t THAT bad!

IMG_0463

Slice your bread in half thusly.

IMG_0464IMG_0465

I started by taking a big spoonful and putting it on one side and then the next so it was evenly distributed. Then, just spread it out so it covers the bread. I put my bread on a cookie sheet and you can see it is much larger than that. I am sure smaller loaves would work well too.

IMG_0473

Bake at 350* for about 1/2 hour until melted and starting to brown on top.

IMG_0474

Look at the cheesy goodness.

IMG_0475

I simply chopped it into small pieces on a large cutting board and served it that way. I think they call that rustic. Olive lovers rejoice!

I hope you all have a very Happy Thanksgiving. I am thankful for so much in my life – family, pets and my health definitely top the list.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Olive Bread

  1. Kate says:

    I am so making this it looks great!!!

Leave a Reply

