Chocolate peanut butter cookie fail

Well, we can’t win them all. I tried a new recipe recently and it was a pretty huge disaster. The ingredient list was simple, so I thought I’d give it a try. They sounded like something I would usually like. I am not going to say where I got the recipe or the name of the cookies because I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings. The directions were a little messy and I admit, I did mess up. However, the end results were bad in spite of my mistake.

IMG_0276

It started out innocently enough. Look at this simple cast of characters. You can see in this photo, this recipe was from a cookbook. I get most of my recipes online and that is because you can generally see a photo of the finished product. Cookbooks – you just don’t know.

IMG_0278IMG_0279

Here is where I screwed up. To me, the directions were hard to understand. I should have creamed the peanut butter, sugar and butter together. This was my mistake.

IMG_0280

You chill the dark dough while you work on the inside peanut butter filling for the cookie.

IMG_0281

The filling was just 1/4 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar.

IMG_0282

The instructions said to use 1 tsp. size of peanut butter filling per cookie and roll into balls. First off – I got TWELVE tsp. out of the filling. TWELVE people. One dozen. I am NOT going to make cookies if I only get 12 of them! What a waste of time. And when I tried to roll them into balls, the just stuck to my hand. This is where I knew this would be a disaster.

IMG_0283

Since I had twelve fillings, I divided the dough into twelve portions.

IMG_0284IMG_0285

You flatten the chocolate part, but the peanut butter in the middle,

IMG_0286IMG_0287

roll those into balls, dip them in sugar and bake. I baked 6 at a time since there were only TWELVE!

IMG_0288

The instructions said to bake for 6 minutes? WTF? I have never baked a cookie for that little of time.

IMG_0289IMG_0290

After baking.

IMG_0291

The middle was nice and gooey. The cookies were big and the chocolate part was not sweet enough. Between me reading the directions wrong and the small size – this was a definite cookie and baking fail. Wah! Hopefully my next recipe works better.

p.s. Sorry for the light posting coming up…we have a ton of food in our freezer to be eaten and I am also on vacation so I will not be blogging while away.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Fail. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate peanut butter cookie fail

  1. Jamie Rust says:

    I’ve seen that filling recipe before (thats what I use when I make peanut butter cups), and it works best if you chill it before trying to roll it into balls (I even chill it before I divide it up, it scoops/measures easier too).

  2. Feisty Eats says:

    Hey Jamie – if you have a good recipe for these cookies – please send it my way! Thanks – feistyeats at gmail dot com.

Leave a Reply

