How do you make popcorn?

IMG_0255

Meow kitties! Do you love popcorn? I mean is there anyone who does not like popcorn? Seriously? I do not know of a single person who does not like popcorn. Well, I LOVE POPCORN! I could eat it every week. Growing up, my Mom always made us a huge bowl of popcorn and it was always so very delicious. My sister and I still love popcorn to this day. To us, there is only one right way to make it and a microwave is not included. We know which bars have good popcorn and which ones suck. If you are wondering, the Lucky Strike Bowling Alley bar has the #1 popcorn in ND. I did find some very excellent popcorn in Big Stone City, SD and I was hoping to take Jodi there this past summer…but we moved and now it is far away. Maybe one day Jodi! I even got Mr. FeistyEats hooked on popcorn. In fact, sometimes he requests popcorn for Sunday dinner.

IMG_0250

Anyway, here is how you make it. It is easy and requires minimum equipment and ingredients. Start off with some vegetable oil, popcorn (white or yellow is fine) and a big pot. Turn the heat to medium.

IMG_0251

Pour enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. You do need (or want) a lot because then your popcorn will be greasy and yucky. You do need the fat to get things popping. Literally. Then, pour in popcorn so there is one solid, single layer. No measurements needed as this should work on whatever size of pan you use. This makes two big bowls once popped. One for Mr. FeistyEats and one for me. That way he can watch football downstairs while I watch Desperate Housewives and Pan Am upstairs!

IMG_0253

One the popcorn is popped (no burned ones for Mr. FeistyEats, but I kind of like them so sometimes leave my popcorn on longer), you can shut off the burner and throw in a stick of butter. It will melt from the residual heat. Then, equally pour the butter onto the popcorn in the bowls.

IMG_0254

Green for Mr. FeistyEats and blue bowl for me. I like to put Lawry’s seasoned salt on my popcorn, Mr. FeistyEats prefers just salt. Salt it after you pour the butter on so it sticks. Also, this might be a family secret, but do you know what makes a really good popcorn topper? Bacon grease. It is sick, right? Well, my Mom used to keep the leftover bacon grease in a Ball Jar and use a big Tbsp. or two and put it in with the butter. This tastes phenomenal and is probably pretty bad for you. Also, probably why it tastes so great. So keep your bacon grease if you want to give it a try.

IMG_0256

Oh, do you know who else loves popcorn? Winston! He does. He loves it and I always share with him. Dogs need treats too. No popcorn for the cat though, I tried to give it to her once and she turned up her nose at it.

IMG_0257

Come to mama! If you typically eat microwave popcorn, make this and you will not go back. This is a delicious treat and it is really cheap to make. Especially compared to the price gouging you pay for at the movie theatre. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

