Cheddar Bacon Ranch Pulls

Happy Halloween from my family (especially the devil cat, below) to you and yours!

IMG_0187

Finally – a picture that show it – she is a DEVIL cat. She is crazy Brinklie cat. Bandit Brinklie. We had fun handing out candy tonight. In Fargo, we lived just outside of town and never had trick or treaters. Tonight, we were out of candy by 8pm! We will know better for next year. The dog loved it and the kids were so funny with things they said, including: “Can I take your dog home with me?”, “Your cat is sooooo cute!”, “I knew you had a cat, I saw her house in the window!”, “Your door is so spooky!” (It sometimes creaks when it opens) “I bet your dog just wants to eat all the candy!” and more. Kids are so cute and most all of them were dressed up. I did note that some had excellent manners, saying Trick Or Treat! Happy Halloween! and Thank You! Others said nothing which I thought was a little rude? Anyway – it was fun.

IMG_0200

A few photos from my weekend. Lovely fall flowers.

IMG_0188

Kinky liquor. It was pretty good I guess, the bottle is gone.

IMG_0189

Breadsmith cookies – split to share samples.

IMG_0191IMG_0194IMG_0195IMG_0196

My sister has the funniest magnets in her house.

IMG_0192

Some photos from a wedding we were at this summer with some of our best girlfriends. What a fun night!

IMG_0193

This is totally something my sister would say!

IMG_0197

My sister’s cat, Isidora, or Izzy for short. She is sweet. She stood in as sous chef since my dog and cat were at the pet grandparents for the weekend while we were off playing.

IMG_0198

OK, enough chit chat, onto the food! We went to a 45th wedding anniversary and I brought a few snacks to contribute. I saw the recipe for cheddar bacon ranch pulls on Plain Chicken. I thought this recipe was no-fail. Butter, Bacon and Bread? The holy trinity of B’s? I think so! I have been using a lot of recipes off of this site – she has some great ones!

IMG_0201IMG_0202

I started by cooking microwaving some bacon. I saw this microwaveable bacon at my favorite store in Fargo, Hornbacher’s, and thought I’d give it a try. I personally am not a huge fan of bacon and I hate when you cook it in the house how the smell stays forever and permeates your clothing. Eww. This is a much better, easier, cleaner way to get some bacon.

IMG_0203

Oh, lucky day. You get to see me in action in my sister’s kitchen. Please note, I had not showered and might have been up until 3:30 am the night before talking and having drinks with my sister. Maybe. Maybe not. I am using her sweet cheese slicer which I loved and now must have. You just want to thinly slice a block of Colby Jack cheese.

IMG_0204IMG_0205IMG_0206IMG_0209

Melt a stick of butter in the microwave, add 1 Tbsp. ranch dip mix, some sliced green onions and about 8 slices of chopped bacon. Thank you to my sister for her assistance. She was a great help.

IMG_0207IMG_0210

I had some seriously, deliciously crusty bread we bought at Breadsmith, a locally owned bakery in Fargo. I heart them. The day I made these, in Fargo, 4 hours from my house also happened to be their 9-year anniversary. Congrats! I knew this because I am on their email list still (even 4 hrs. away!) and saw they had some giveaways and special promotions going on. Also, if you buy 12 loaves of bread, you get your 13th free and I was on my 12th loaf. I couldn’t pass this up. I got this delicious sourdough bread and a multigrain that I love. We also got the free cookies along with tons of samples and a small jar of strawberry jam. Winston was also lucky enough that I brought home a bread bone for him that they sell. If you are in Fargo – I highly recommend them. The bread is definitely more money, but much better quality by far with great, fresh ingredients. Yum.

Anyway, sorry for that tangent, take a sourdough loaf and cut it into slices and then turn it 90* and cut it so you have small squares. Do not cut it all the way through – this way, your guests can pull it apart.

IMG_0211IMG_0212

You want to take your butter mix and with a brush, spread that goodness through every nook and cranny. Then take your cheese and stuff it between bread. Don’t miss a spot. The round load of sourdough would work just as well here too. I like to get the butter and bacon all inside the bread, but it looks great on top, inside, all around, as long as the bread is touching it – you are good to go.

IMG_0231

Bake it until the cheese is all melty and everything is warm and glorious! I swear there is bacon, cheese, butter and onions inside! About 15 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered at 350*. Below is the exact recipe. I’ll be back with the dip I served it with – even though it really doesn’t need anything.

Cheddar Bacon Ranch Pulls from Plain Chicken

1 unsliced loaf of good quality sourdough bread
8-12 oz Colby Jack or Cheddar cheese, thinly sliced
8 – 12 slices of cooked bacon, crumbled
2 green onions, sliced
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 Tbsp Ranch dressing mix

Using a sharp bread knife cut the bread going both directions. Do not cut through the bottom crust. Melt butter and add in green onions, ranch mix and bacon. Mix together and spread between all bread cuts using a brush. Wrap in foil the entire loaf in foil and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Unwrap. Bake for an additional 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Serve and enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheddar Bacon Ranch Pulls

  1. Faye Krumwiede says:

    This looks to be a great recipe both for breakfasts & parties. The people we party with can sit around a table for hours nibbling and this is a great ‘picking’ appetizer. My husband said you can cook for him anytime, since we are both still drooling over the pumpkin, cheesecake, whipped cream madness you brought over to the house. Yumm.

  2. Rob Roberts says:

    I was thrilled to see this post! I happen to own your local Breadsmith and love the addition to bacon!!! We have a graduation coming up and am going to make this variation. Thank you for your patronage.

    Rob

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Thanks so much Rob. I am sure it’ll be a hit. Thanks for the wonderful bread over the years. I still try to stop in when I am back in Fargo. I love your pizza dough as well!

Leave a Reply

