BBQ Chicken Pizza

I can’t say I made this recipe up. I generally am not one to make recipes up. I find ones I like online and sound good to me and make them. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. I’m sure there are a lot of pizzas like this and I cannot lay claim to it. But it came from my own head.

IMG_0159

Well, it actually came from this glorious BBQ’d chicken from this post. Plain Chicken has some great recipes and I used that dip as an inspiration for this pizza. You see, when I bought the chicken for the dip, I still had two breasts to use up. I wasn’t sure if Mr. FeistyEats would be on board (he is more of an all-meat or supreme pizza lover) but I thought I would like it.

IMG_0165

While sautéing chicken thighs for the chicken noodle soup; I baked the remaining to breasts of chicken to be used on this pizza later in the week. I cannot say it enough – prep your food in advance. It is the best thing to do to save time; and your sanity. Here are all the ingredients I used:

  • 1 can Pillsbury pizza dough (see notes below)
  • 1 – 2 chicken breasts, cooked, de-boned and shredded – pre-seasoned with BBQ spices is preferred, but not necessary
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1/2 cup of ranch dressing
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 4 green onions, diced
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 – 1 diced tomato
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese (I used Colby Jack – mozzarella would be nice too)

Preheat your oven to 425* and bake for 20 minutes and then broil for 1-2 minutes. Again, see my comments below.

IMG_0166

Waiting for a piece of breast. Typical dog.

IMG_0167

Prowling for catnip or any small thing that might slightly move.

IMG_0168

Slice up your red onion. Put a teaspoon or two of olive oil in a small pan to warm up.

IMG_0169IMG_0170

I used a Pillsbury pizza crust as it was on sale for $2 at Dan’s Supermarket in Mandan. I normally would not buy this stuff. I must say it was super easy to form onto my round pan and took me only minutes. I really prefer at least 1/2 whole wheat crust. Mr. FeistyEats said Pillsbury was much, much better. If I use this again (and I most likely will if it is on sale) I would precook the crust for a while because I felt the middle was a bit soggy.

IMG_0171IMG_0172

While you sauté your onions and warm up your oven – mix together the sour cream and ranch mixture. Spread most of the mixture as the sauce of the pizza. You will have some left, which you will want for topping.

IMG_0174IMG_0175

Don’t forget your BBQ sauce! We had this sweet and smoky Ken Davis BBQ in the fridge and it was quite good. But use what you want – sweet, spicy, smoky, etc. I also had a fresh tomato from Mr. FeistyEats grandma that went well on this pizza.

IMG_0176

I put about 1/2 of the cheese on, blobs (very technical term, I know) of BBQ sauce, green onions, sautéed red onions, tomatoes and chicken on top.

IMG_0177

Looking good. Am I right or am I right? You can see the chicken has the great seasoning on it. I would recommend seasoning your chicken prior to cooking it if you can. I baked mine in a 425 oven for about 45 minutes. I simply removed any fat and all bones after the baking was done, sliced/shredded it and put it in the fridge until it was ready for this pizza. If you don’t season your chicken it will be fine.

IMG_0179

Add on the rest of your cheese and top with the remaining sour cream/ranch dressing mixture and a few more blobs of BBQ sauce. Bake for about 20 minutes (again, I’d put the crust in alone first for a few minutes to really crisp it up), or until your preferred doneness. We like it cooked well with a crunch.

IMG_0180

Come to mama.

IMG_0181

The crust did perform well other than it was a little limp in the middle. TWSS.

IMG_0182IMG_0184

Is that a cute towel my Mom made for me or what?

IMG_0183IMG_0185

I was experimenting with light. The two photos above on the left were with natural light and those on the right were with the dining room light on. I prefer the natural light, but guess what? We live in ND so it will be dark pretty soon from 5pm until 8am. In other words, get ready to the yellow-ish tinged photos. Unless I find time to cook on the weekend. Which isn’t looking good with our upcoming schedule.

IMG_0186

At this point – devour your pizza. Mr. FeistyEats prefers the crust pieces and I like the inside. It is like a match made in heaven. Someone in the house prefers SQUARE pieces of TRIANGLE pieces. This is serious business people. By the way, I hate cutting pizza, just hate it. Anyway, top with more BBQ sauce or ranch if you would like. Do not mind the odds and ends in the background. 1 leftover cookie, some blister strips, a flashlight, pills and a car phone charger. Totally normal kitchen items, right?

I think this pizza would also work well as an appetizer (cut into small bites) or also delicious grilled. Mr. FeistyEats approved! I call that a winner.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Grilling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

