Chicken Noodle Soup

Brrr! Baby, it is cold outside. Well, not really cold, but this week you can really feel fall in the air. That and it is pretty much dark when I leave for work. This makes me sad. But, what makes me happy is soup. I love soup and we all know soup tastes better when it is cold outside. I saw in the weekly ad that chicken thighs were on sale. To get ideas for things I’d like to make I have a file of recipes to make one day, but sometimes, I just see sale items and a thought comes to me. This is more true for cooking, rather than baking, since I don’t tend to use an exact recipe when cooking.

IMG_0147

My main ingredients started out with the chicken and then I sautéed 1/4 of a small head of cabbage, a whole yellow onion, about 1/2 bag of baby carrots and 4-5 stalks of celery in olive oil.

IMG_0148IMG_0150

First, I removed the skin from the chicken thighs and browned them (not cooked all the way through) in the soup pan with some olive oil. I removed them to a plate once they have a nice color on them.

IMG_0151

Then throw in your veggies. The celery, onion and carrots are THE trifecta. Cabbage is just an added bonus.

IMG_0152IMG_0155

Sauté the veggies until they reduce in size and start to brown up a bit. This took about 10 minutes for me since I had so many veggies.

IMG_0153

I used the seasonings: cracked black pepper, chicken seasoning (From Sam’s Club), 2 bay leaves, parsley flakes and a little celery salt and garlic salt.

IMG_0154IMG_0156

Next, I added in one box (4 cups) of less sodium chicken broth and about 2 cups of water. I added the chicken thighs back to the pot. Bring everything to a simmer and boil for about 20 minutes to cook the chicken. If you need more salt for your soup at this point add it in or use bouillon base.

IMG_0157

Midway through boiling, I decided to add in about 1/2 of a bag of these frozen veggies to amp up the veggies factor. Yum!

IMG_0158

Remove the chicken thighs and shred or cut them to go back into the soup. Feel free to bring with a few veggies for the ride.

IMG_0160

At this point, I think the soup is good. Chicken vegetable soup. However, I think Mr. FeistyEats likes some carbs in his soup so I added in some of this rotini when the chicken went back in. Any noodle would work – my Mom always made homemade ones that were very good. They are pretty easy to make if you have patience and time. I was running short on both this night.

IMG_0162

Chicken noodle soup, probably more like stew with all the veggies I used. This was quite good.

IMG_0163

Served with a side salad of romaine, carrots, tomatoes, cheese and a few slices of boiled egg.

IMG_0161

Let’s EAT! Mr. FeistyEats tried to grab the soup before this photo and almost got smacked.

IMG_0164

Ending with a cat tail (ha, ha.) This is Brinklie’s bed she has had since we got her. And yes, that is a wooden rattlesnake she has as a toy. Don’t ask. Anyway, there is catnip inside the bed and just recently she has been absolutely SHREDDING a huge hole in the middle, hence the with puff of stuffing on her snake. I guess someone is getting a new bed. She still sleeps in there though. Funny cat.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. Faye Krumwiede says:

    This is a great soup recipe. I will be sure to try it. Our ‘grand dog’s, Barley (yellow lab) also.shreds all her toys. Finally got her a small tire that is still in one piece. She does keep small scrap of all her chewed up toys. Thanks for your blog, it is excellent. Your neighbor, Faye

  2. Feisty Eats says:

    Thanks Faye. Hopefully one day I’ll make some treats and bring them over. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

