Buffalo Sloppy Joes

Pretty much everyone in my family knows I like a little spice and a little heat in my foods. Both my sister and my Mom shared this recipe with me! I knew I probably had to try it out! I took these photos with my new camera!

IMG_0075

This recipe was featured in the Taste of Home magazine. They often times have great, easy, accessible recipes. This was a feature on quick comfort food that came together in minutes.

IMG_0063

Indeed, it was easy to put together with minimal ingredients.

IMG_0064

Here is the recipe. I found it online, so I hope this isn’t copyright infringement or anything like that.

Buffalo Sloppy Joes – 30 minutes, 8 servings

  • 2 lbs. extra-lean ground turkey (I used lean beef)
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped (I used 3)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, grated (I was too lazy to grate it and it turned out fine)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced (I used dried garlic slices)
  • 1 can (8 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth (I did not use this, more explanation below)
  • 1/4 cup Louisiana-style hot sauce (1/2 cup went in for me Smile)
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar (white vinegar would work here as well)
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 8 hamburger buns, split
  • Optional blue cheese or ranch dressing

IMG_0065

Put the first 5 ingredients in your pan, or this wonderful electric skillet. I seriously love this thing.

IMG_0066IMG_0067

They say to add in 1/2 cup of chicken broth but I didn’t want to open a can for that little amount. I know they have the re-sealable ones you can keep in the fridge, but again, for 1/2 cup I didn’t want to. Instead I just used water and a little of this Better Than Bouillon paste. It works great for many things! I doubled the Louisiana hot sauce, as I just didn’t think that amount was enough!

IMG_0070

This is the dish after adding all the other ingredients and letting it simmer and cook down.

IMG_0068

I had to try a little! You can see the generous hunks of onion, celery, garlic and carrot.

IMG_0074

I served our joes on a whole wheat bun, homemade chips and a side of homemade ranch dressing. I love homemade ranch! I also like to put some cheese on my joes and let it get all melty. Both Mr. FeistyEats and I agreed that this was not very spicy at all. I think kids would even eat it? I solved that by pouring more Louisiana hot sauce on the joes. Then, it was good. Even without the addition of the extra hot sauce, I really liked these sloppy joes. However, sloppy joes are one of my favorite foods and my Mom made them for us growing up quite often. I’d make these again, just with more hot sauce. 

IMG_0075

I love the new camera. The food looks much more appetizing. I did another recipe earlier this day and used the flash and those photos did not turn out so well. I am learning though. I’ll post that recipe next week I’m sure. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buffalo Sloppy Joes

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m jealous of your new camera–I’m saving up to get myself a new one. I got that issue of Taste of Home & made those sloppy joes–REALLY good stuff!

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Yes, I love the camera. So much to figure out though. I just got a Smart Phone and that is stumping me! I saw on your Twitter you made these! Hopefully now that I have a smart phone I can be on Twitter more and read blog more religiously! Thanks for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

