Apple Toffee Blondies with Brown Sugar Frosting

Wow. I baked these because I didn’t think I’d really like them. Makes perfect sense, right? OK, not really. Well, you see, the thing is that my sister is getting married 11-11-11 in Key West, FL! What a great time! My Mom was over a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to try on my bridesmaid dress for her and, um, err, it didn’t exactly zip up. Oh crap! The wedding at that point was like 2 months away. Operation crash diet starts now. I guess I have been doing too much sampling and not enough exercise. Luckily, I have been able to drop a few pounds and the dress is much better but I still have a few pounds to go. There is no way I am giving up beer (my favorite food group) so I had to cut back on sugar and carbs. A great way to cut on carbs is that cauliflower crust pizza I made a while back!

DSCN4361

I mean, I am STILL working through these apples people. I have had enough apples! But I can’t just THROW them out. That would be silly and wasteful. I came across the recipe for Apple Toffee Blondies and figured this would be great. I don’t really care for toffee so I wouldn’t want to eat them. Also, Mr. FeistyEats is a fan of toffee so I figured he could eat these! Perfect solution. And, toffee chips were on sale at our local grocery store. It was obviously meant to be. Except, were REALLY good and I REALLY liked them. Luckily, I held myself to ONE bar and sent the rest with Mr. FeistyEats for pheasant hunting opener with his buddies.

DSCN4347

Ingredients via www.cookiesandcups.com.

Recipe: Apple Toffee Blondies

Ingredients
  • 2/3 cup room temperature butter (I used 10 Tbsp. 2/3 cup of butter equals like 10 Tbsp. and 2 tsp. or something crazy like that – way above me!)
  • 2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup peeled, chopped tart apple (1 large)
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Spray 9×13 baking pan lightly with cooking or baking spray.
  3. Cream butter and brown sugar in mixer until smooth.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla and beat on medium until combined.
  5. On low, add flour, baking powder, and salt. Mixing until just combined.
  6. Stir in the chopped apples and toffee bits until evenly distributed.
  7. Spread in prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes until the center is set.
  8. Let cool completely before slicing or frosting.

DSCN4348DSCN4349

Start out by creaming the butter and brown sugar. Things are already looking really good.

DSCN4350

I only had to peel and chop two small apples for this recipe so I was happy it didn’t take much work, but I was worried about all the apples I was NOT using.

DSCN4351DSCN4352

The other nice thing about this recipe is I really do not think you’d need a mixer at all for this. The ingredients are all real simple and you probably have them on hand, well, except maybe not toffee bits.

Add in the eggs and vanilla and combine. Add in the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder and salt. Mix until just combines. I thought it was a small amount?

DSCN4353

But after spreading it in a greased cake pan, it fit just perfectly.

DSCN4354DSCN4356

Muah, ha ha! Look at the cute, crazy cat. She looks like she is sleeping AND praying. The animals are always nearby when I am cooking or baking.

DSCN4357

Winston was giving me the stink eye. He is tired of pictures.

DSCN4359DSCN4358

While the bars are cooling, gather the 4 easy ingredients you need for the brown sugar frosting: butter, brown sugar, powdered sugar and milk.

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
Instructions
  1. Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add brown sugar and milk and bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Let cool for 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in powdered sugar with a whisk.
  3. Let cool until it thickens enough to spread.
  4. Stir before spreading on top of blondies.
  5. Let frosting set for 30 minutes and then cut into bars.

Easiest frosting ever. It was so sweet and so good. This recipe is also from Cookies and Cups.

DSCN4360

I set mine on the patio to cool. These photos were with my old camera. I really hope I can take some better photos with the new camera. I don’t know though, because that would probably require I read some manual or something and I have not a clue when I’d have time for that! Generally, I cook over the weekend and then set up 3 posts to be posted throughout the week since I am so busy with my other jobs and not at home.

DSCN4361

Anyway, the bars were so dense, but so soft.

DSCN4362

I could have swam in the frosting. It was so good. I think this recipe is a definite keeper. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

