Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Yes, you read the correctly. My friend, Alison, sent me the link for this recipe on Twitter and I knew I had to make this ASAP. I love cauliflower and the idea of a healthy crust sounded awesome. I mean, who doesn’t love pizza? I seriously do not know anyone who does not like pizza. But FOR SURE (for me anyway) the most dreaded part is the crust. Of course, it tastes delicious, but the carby goodness is definitely not figure friendly.

DSCN4338

At first glance, it looks like legit cheese pizza, right? Well, here is the step-by-step of what Ms. Eat.Drink.Smile did to create these pizzas.

DSCN4327DSCN4328

Start out by “ricing” cauliflower. The recipe calls for 1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower. I doubled this recipe and had a little over 2 cups using a medium head of cauliflower. I mean, what else would I do with the riced cauliflower? More pizza, of course! If you do not have a food processor, you can grate the head of cauliflower. You do not want to run it too much in the food processor or it will become creamy and/or mushy.

DSCN4329

Transfer to a microwave safe bowl and nuke this for 8 minutes. Mr. FeistyEats is NOT a fan of cauliflower and was not a fan of the smell coming from the microwave. No need to add water, the water from the veggie will help it cook.

DSCN4333

To the cooled cauliflower, you want to add in shredded mozzarella cheese, eggs and spices. You can also use olive oil to brush the “bread” to help it get nice and golden.

DSCN4334DSCN4336

I formed these into pizza crust shapes and baked until golden at 450* for 15-20 minutes.

DSCN4337DSCN4338

Like I said, I was super excited to make these. So excited, I didn’t have any toppings other than cheese Colby Jack and Parmesan cheese (and of course Louisiana hot sauce.) No meat, veggies, anything.

DSCN4339

I tried a few pieces straight out of the oven and at first I wasn’t sure. The crust was surprisingly dough-like (although definitely not the same!) but the pizza was a little meh. I took leftovers for work and I LOVED it the next day. I have this horrible habit of eating things straight out of the oven and sometimes, it is best to let things sit for a bit. Next time though, I am definitely going to make the crusts thinner and more crisp and add some interesting toppings. I love this as a healthier alternative to pizza. In fact, I want some now as I type this up a few weeks after I baked this! Here is the recipe from Eat. Drink.Smile with my changes. Thanks Alison for sending this on! I know she made it with her man and also approved! This would be great with veggies piled high on it! See below the recipe for some fall photos of my street in Hazen.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Serves 2; I doubled this recipe and it worked fine. I did have about 3-4 servings. I eat a lot.

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp crushed garlic
1/2 tsp garlic salt
olive oil (optional)

pizza sauce, shredded cheese and your choice of toppings*

Directions:

To “Rice” the Cauliflower:
Take 1 large head of fresh cauliflower, remove stems and leaves, and chop the florets into chunks. Add to food processor and pulse until it looks like grain. Do not over-do pulse or you will puree it. (If you don’t have a food processor, you can grate the whole head with a cheese grater). Place the riced cauliflower into a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 8 minutes. There is no need to add water, as the natural moisture in the cauliflower is enough to cook itself.

One large head should produce approximately 3 cups of riced cauliflower. The remainder can be used to make additional pizza crusts immediately, or can be stored in the refrigerator for up to one week.

To Make the Pizza Crust:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup cauliflower, egg and mozzarella. Add oregano, crushed garlic and garlic salt, stir. Transfer to the cookie sheet, and using your hands, pat out into a 9″ round. Optional: Brush olive oil over top of mixture to help with browning.

Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.

Remove from oven. To the crust, add sauce, toppings and cheese. Place under a broiler at high heat just until cheese is melted (approximately 3-4 minutes).

Enjoy!

*Note that toppings need to be precooked since you are only broiling for a few minutes.

 

DSCN4340

This is Brinklie’s usual resting place. The little cat is just too stinking cute. I love her. And yes, she wears a harness. She loves to be outside on her leash. She thinks she is a dog most of the time.

DSCN4342

I took these photos inside my house from our big window of our neighbor’s trees with my old camera. So many pretty colors on one street. Unfortunately, by now, most of the leaves are gone.

DSCN4343

Love that tree!

DSCN4344

Enjoy fall, it is almost gone I think. ;(

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cauliflower Crust Pizza

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting
    for your further write ups thanks once again.

Leave a Reply

