Quesadilla Casserole

DSCN4315

Have you ever seen these pre-measured packets at the grocery store?

DSCN4316

They have a recipe on the back and all you have to do is follow the directions. I always thought these were stupid and a waste of money. Most spices are fairly reasonable and you can probably buy a few bottles of spices for the price of one of these. But, then I got to thinking…these are actually a pretty good idea for those who don’t cook often, or are just getting into cooking. Maybe this is just the platform they need to start experimenting more with spices. This was on sale, so I thought I’d give it a try!

DSCN4318

Quesadilla casserole? I thought this would be great to make ahead for Mr. FeistyEats while I was out working my 2nd job and not home to make him dinner.

DSCN4319

The recipe looks easy enough. Of course, I had to make a few substitutions because I can’t follow a recipe. Here is what I did: added some green onion, subbed out 1 14.5 oz can of chopped tomatoes for the tomato sauces, used refried beans instead of black beans and added in some left over rice (maybe 3/4 cup?), green onion, a bit of fresh jalapeno and a small can of sliced olives.

DSCN4317

I had previously browned and frozen some fried hamburger. This is a great time-saving tip. Just freeze 1 lb., browned with some onions and you can use it later for a variety of dishes.

DSCN4320

Once again! Can I please use a bigger dish? I was about overflowing here! This is a good example though of the spices and how they actually look like a lot. People usually UNDER season things. Don’t be afraid. Each of those little packets holds quite a bit. The recipe does say to use as much of the crushed red pepper as you like. Some like it hot, we used it all, plus the jalapeno!

DSCN4321DSCN4322

Start out with a cake pan, layer some meat mixture and cover with tortillas. I tore them to fit. The recipe said take 1/2 cup of the meat mixture. I think that was a typo? I used more than that to just cover the bottom. (Note the apples, they are coming out of my ears!)

DSCN4323DSCN4324

Repeat and add some olives if you like!

DSCN4325DSCN4326

Don’t forget the cheese. I only had sliced, not shredded, but this worked fine. I had a few layers by the time I was done.

DSCN4330DSCN4331

Bake it until it is warm and the cheese is melting, about 15-20 minutes at 350*.

DSCN4332

I couldn’t wait until it cooled to get it out of the pan!

DSCN4335

I think this was a good meal and nice for a change! Leftover freeze well. Mr. FeistyEats and I love to eat but even this big pan was way too much to polish off in a few settings. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

