Apple bread

There was a huge cardboard bucket full of apples at my work the other day. I could not pass them up. When we lived in Fargo, we had an apple tree and when we decided we were moving I thought I’d never make anything “apple” again. Oh well. I picked up a few apples I figured I could make 2 or so recipes with. Oh yeah, there is more than just two. Sorry for the light postings this week but I was gone last weekend when I get the majority of my blogs posted and baking or cooking done. Next week will be better, I promise!

DSCN4287

That was a pretty stupid thought. Of course there would be other generous people out there willing to share apples with the rest of us who do not own apple trees anymore!

DSCN4283

I got out my trusty apple cookbook I made (along with help and a recipe from my Mom) in the FIRST GRADE! This thing is still totally intact, although weathered on the edges. It has a few good recipes in it for sure! It is dated 1986 on the cover!

DSCN4288

I like this recipe because it makes two bread loaf pans full of yummy apple bread.

DSCN4285

This is the recipe for Apple Nut bread (strangely there are no nuts in this recipe, but I bet if you are into that they would be a great addition):

  • 1 1/2 cups oil (or you could do 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla – beat the above 3 items together
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp (or more!) cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups apples peeled and chopped
  • Blend wet with dry and bake in greased pans at 325* for 1 hr and 20 minutes

DSCN4290DSCN4291DSCN4292DSCN4293

I start by peeling and chopping my apples. No seeds! You could certainly use an apple core tool or any other fancy equipment you have on hand. Or just a plain old paring knife will work. I think I used 4 or 5 apples to equal 3 cups, it just depends on their size.

DSCN4294

Use a little lemon juice to keep the apples looking fresh if you prefer. The recipe comes together quickly, so I don’t worry too much about this.

DSCN4295DSCN4296DSCN4297DSCN4298

You want to mix your wet ingredients in one bowl and your dry in another. I add my apples to the dry to coat them with the flour mix so they don’t all sink to the bottom of the bread. Next, mix wet with dry. Note to self: use a bigger bowl next time. I don’t know why I have such a difficult time with bowl size or fitting leftovers in the correct size container. So frustrating!

DSCN4299

Distribute as evenly as you can between two bread pans.

DSCN4302

After they are baked let them cool slightly.

DSCN4303DSCN4309

Then, I like to put some butter on top while they are warm enough to melt the butter and sprinkle a cinnamon sugar mixture on top. This could also be done prior to baking them. I have done it both ways.

DSCN4310DSCN4312

The melted butter lets the cinnamon sugar mix sink in. Make sure you let them cool a bit more thoroughly before you put them on a cooling rack. There is the risk the bread could break. I do my best to loosen the bread with a knife and or spatula before removing it all.

DSCN4314

Slice and serve. Mr. FeistyEats likes it plain, some like it with butter. I am not a huge fan of fruit desserts (I like chocolate on chocolate and maybe some peanut butter in there) but this is a great fall treat. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apple bread

  1. Jamie Rust says:

    I still have my trusty apple cookbook we made too!

    • Feisty Eats says:

      🙂 That’s great. Lots of memories!

    • Kate says:

      I can never leave post on your blog any more what is up with that…any who I am making some of that for sure like this weekend. Coffee break ya know. I love that you took a picture of your little cookbook. I wonder if any of your classmates still have theres. I am so glad I saved that for you. Who would of knew that you would turn into a foodie!!!

      • Feisty Eats says:

        Yeah, I was wondering where you went? Jamie Rust said she still has her cookbook! What great memories. Sad though, to see we lost a classmate. Still wonder about a few of them and what they are doing!

Leave a Reply

