Self-Filled chocolate cupcakes

DSCN4281

Do you love these vintage plates? At first I really did not care for them, but they have grown on me and I love them. We got them as hand-me-downs from Mr. FeistyEats Mom. My Mom sent me a link to this blog and told me she tried out this recipe and it was a great success so I had to make it. I love reading blogs and especially reading those of people from North Dakota and Diary of a Recipe Addict fits both those bills.

DSCN4262

I knew I was on a tight timeline to make these cupcakes with other things I had going on in my life so I decided to make the inside “stuffed” part of the cupcake first.

Self-Filled Cupcakes

  • 18 1/2 oz. box chocolate cake mix (I used dark chocolate)
  • 8 oz. package cream cheese (I used reduced-fat)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 6 oz. chocolate chips (mini would work the best although I made them with regular)

Prepare cake mix, using milk instead of water, per package directions. Place cupcake papers in cupcake tins.

Divide batter evenly between 24 cupcake papers.

Cream sugar and softened cream cheese; beat in egg and salt. Stir in chips.

Equally distribute the cream cheese mixture between all 24 cupcake tins, dropping it on each one, near the center.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Cool and frost.

DSCN4263

I creamed the sugar and softened cream cheese; beat in egg and salt. I didn’t get a very good photo (sorry for the bright glare – I cook, photography, not so much) but this is the new salt shaker we got from our friends who visited. We also got the matching pepper shaker and these things are awesome. They have a button on the top that automatically grinds the salt or pepper and ALSO lights up at the bottom. These were a hit at our house party. Thanks friends!

DSCN4265

I added in about 1 cup of milk chocolate chips and set this aside in the fridge until the next night when I assembled the cupcakes. I actually think refrigerating the cream cheese center was a good thing. The cream cheese didn’t sink to the bottom and was easy to handle. I haven’t made them without it being cold though, so I can’t say for sure. Basically, making it in advance worked well.

DSCN4267

You mix up the box cake mix as according to directions, except use milk instead of water.

DSCN4268DSCN4269

Fill 24 cupcake liners as evenly as possible with batter and then divide the cream cheese evenly and top each cupcake with the mixture. This worked out perfectly for me with 24 cupcakes. If you have a friend who doesn’t like cream cheese (the horror) you might want to make a special few for your weird friend.

DSCN4270DSCN4271

While the cupcakes are baking and cooling, put together your frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

  • 3 1/2 c. confectioners sugar
  • 8 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 8 Tbsp butter
  • 7 Tbsp. heavy cream (if you are in a pinch, milk would work OK too) (I used milk)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

In a medium sized bowl, combine the confectioners sugar and cocoa power. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter until smooth, then gradually beat in sugar mixture and cream. Blend in vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy. In necessary, adjust consistency with more cream or sugar.

DSCN4272

I thought the frosting was really loose and was worried if it would stay on the cupcakes or not. It tasted amazing though!

DSCN4273DSCN4274

On the left is the cupcakes straight out of the oven, after while some of them caved in but it was OK since we were covering them with frosting.

DSCN4276

I started out frosting the cupcakes with a tip and bag but found the frosting to be too soft. This probably could be corrected by reducing the amount of milk. For the rest of the cupcakes I used a knife and rolled them in fall colored sprinkles.

DSCN4277

So delicious!

DSCN4279

Packed up and ready to go to work. I made these for a work friend (and our other co-workers) who is getting married on Oct. 8. I hope she enjoyed them. These remind me of a cupcake that the Mom of my old high school boyfriend made. She probably made them homemade (I remember she was a great cook) but this is a quick work-night alternative. Great blog and great recipe!

DSCN4280DSCN4282

Enjoy…but….

DSCN4261

Don’t enjoy too much or you will be comatose. All this Brinklie cat does is sleep or if she is awake, torment my poor dog. She is funny.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

