Pumpkin Cake with Caramel Cider Sauce

Who doesn’t love fall? Actually, I used to never be a huge fan of fall. When I met Mr. FeistyEats, he was the one who really liked fall and turned me onto it. The days can be nice and warm and the evenings cool. My favorite is when it stays warm enough at night to keep the windows open. I love have the cool air come in while you are warm in your bed. I also love pumpkin desserts. I have heard that the U.S. is again going to have a pumpkin shortage. So I would get thee to the grocery store and stock up. I found this recipe from Tasty Kitchen while searching for a pumpkin recipe idea. While pumpkin and cream cheese are a winning combination, I wanted something else this time. Pumpkin cake with caramel cider sauce? OK!

DSCN4259

The finished product on my scratched up cutting board. No big deal.

DSCN4250

Ingredients FOR THE CAKE:

  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1-½ cup Flour
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1-½ teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ¾ cups Oil
  • 15 ounces, weight Canned Pumpkin
  • 2 whole Eggs

DSCN4251DSCN4252

Preparation Instructions

For the cake: Combine the first 6 ingredients. Add oil, pumpkin and eggs. Whisk until blended. Pour into a greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 325F for 30 minutes. Cool and top with the sauce before serving. I loved this was a one dish cake and you don’t need anything special (not even a hand mixer) to quickly put this together.

DSCN4253

Ingredients FOR THE CARAMEL CIDER SAUCE:

  • ½ cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cornstarch
  • ⅔ cups Apple Cider (I could only find this in a huge jug so now I have a bunch of cider left over which is a bummer or I have to find something to make with it)
  • 2 Tablespoons Heavy Cream (I did not have this and used 2 Tbsp. of ice cream instead which worked just fine)
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • ⅛ teaspoons Salt To Taste

For the caramel sauce: In a saucepan, whisk brown sugar and cornstarch. Add cider and stir in the cream, butter and salt. Cook over medium-high heat, whisking constantly, until large bubbles form around the edge of the saucepan, about 3 minutes. Reduce heat to low and allow to thicken, about 2 minutes.

DSCN4257

The finished product. I thought that would not be enough caramel sauce but it was just the right amount. The cake was airy and not very sweet. The sauce definitely made it great. I wouldn’t want the cake without the sauce.

DSCN4258

This would also be good served with ice cream. Enjoy this simple recipe!

DSCN4255

Brinklie on her paw print blanket napped while I put this cake together.

DSCN4260

Winston was close to the kitchen but he napped also. They are both doing well with Winston adjusting more and more each day. Recently, Mr. FeistyEats has been decreasing his medication amounts so we can hopefully get him off of the pills all together. We just don’t like the idea of him being on drugs and think it does affect him somewhat. He seems to be adjusting just fine so far. Fingers crossed.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

