Grilled vegetable kabobs

I am feeling sorry for myself today. I am home from work sick with a nasty cough/cold. I have been on the verge of being sick for almost 2 weeks and I thought I held it off but nope. Generally, I feel really guilty calling in sick. Not today. I called in sick, slept some, showered (which is more than I did yesterday), ate, slept more and now I am playing on the computer and probably going to take another nap soon. So, I think I was pretty tired out. Hopefully I get over this ASAP because I plan to go visit my sister in Fargo this weekend. I don’t have much of an appetite but I do have some food recipes remaining from our little house party we had. Super easy, good and even healthy!

I’m not sure why, but when you serve something on a stick…it just seems neat. I received a book from one of my friend’s mom, called On A Stick. There are some great recipes in that book and, naturally, everything served is on a stick. They have appetizers, desserts, main courses, everything. This book gave me an idea for our party.

I had a ton of veggies in my fridge that I knew I wouldn’t be using up anytime soon, so I decided to make some grilled vegetable kabobs. Grilled vegetables are so much better than raw veggies, in my opinion.

DSCN4236

Included on my kebobs (or is it kebabs?) was corn, yellow, green and red peppers and some carrots as well as…

DSCN4237

onions, red potato and sweet potato. For the potatoes and carrots I nuked them in advance since they will take longer to cook than the other veggies.

DSCN4238

It is true that cutting and putting the veggies on the kebabs does take its fair share of time; it is definitely worth it.

DSCN4240

Although grilled veggies alone would be all right, I wanted to give them a nice coating of spices. You could go any way you want – Tex-Mex, Asian, Greek – whatever you want. I used some green onion, olive oil, butter, onion powder, parsley flakes, pepper, garlic and some unpictured soy sauce.

DSCN4241

Use a brush and brush each vegetable with the flavoring and grill until veggies start to become soft and get some char on them. Serve immediately. Leftovers are great too. Easy dish, but people always love something served on a stick! Enjoy!

Sorry, once again, no finished photo as I was busy with the party and probably busy eating! They were good though!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Grilling, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

