Jalapeno Popper Spread

This past weekend, we had some friends over for a get-together at our house. I might have went a little overboard making things, but what is new. Here was the tentative menu of what we were providing (in addition to what others brought):

  • Smoked pork loin with rub (all courtesy of Mr. FeistyEats)
  • Honey mustard glaze for the pork loin
  • Grilled vegetable skewers
  • Deviled eggs (always popular)
  • Caprese salad
  • Jalapeno popper spread
  • Salsa with dippers
  • Pumpkin cake with caramel cider glaze

Originally, I wanted to make jalapeno poppers on the grill. They are jalapenos sliced in half with the insides removed and replaced with a mixture of cream cheese, cheese and seasonings and then wrapped in bacon. After looking at the rest of my menu and seeing that I had quite a bit to prepare for (in addition to cleaning the house) I saw this recipe on allrecipes.com; it was a done deal!

I use www.allrecipes.com all.the.time. I love the comment feedback and ideas left by other viewers.

DSCN4242

Here is the original recipe, my changes are in italics:

Ingredients
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened (You could use low-fat, never no-fat though)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (I used low-fat)
  • I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chilies, drained
  • 2 ounces canned diced jalapeno peppers, drained (I used the whole 4 oz. can)
  • I also added one full chopped fresh jalapeno, with no seeds or ribs to the mixture and reserved another 1/2 fresh jalapeno to garnish the top of the dip
  • Finally, per commenters, I topped the dip with 3 Tbsp. breadcrumbs and 2 Tbsp. melted butter – I’m not sure this was needed though.
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Directions
  1. Stir together cream cheese and mayonnaise in a large bowl until smooth. Stir in green chilies and jalapeno peppers. Pour mixture into a microwave an oven safe serving dish, and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Garnish with fresh, thinly sliced jalapeno slices.
  2. Microwave on High until hot, about 3 minutes. Bake at 400* until bubbling and brown, about 25 minutes.

DSCN4243DSCN4244

Make sure the cream cheese is soft; this makes it so much easier to mix. Mine was set out for several hours. I used a hand mixer to blend the cream cheese and mayo. Add veggies and stir.

DSCN4245

Pour into an oven-safe dish. I bet you could even put this in the crock-pot all day. I was concerned about the heat factor at this point. After tasting it; I could have added 2 more fresh jalapenos at least, but I like it hot. This was probably good for a crowd.

DSCN4246DSCN4247

If you look in the photo above, I had MOZZARELLA cheese. I was about to pour that on and caught my mistake. That would not have been good. The parmesan itself gave it a nice topping.

DSCN4248

As I mentioned above, I added break crumbs and a bit of melted butter after reading some reviews. This was fine, but I really do not think it was necessary. I will try it again without the crumb topping.

DSCN4249

Here is the dip all put together and ready to go in the oven. And guess what? I have no finished/baked photo! I was so busy running around getting my party together I forgot to take a photo. I assure you it was really good. I loved it and ate it on pickles. Most people ate it with tortilla chips or Wheat Thins though. I think this would be a hit at a potluck. Give it a try! Adjust the heat to your preference; I think this was just right for a kick; but not too much heat. The baking and cream cheese really make the heat more mild. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

