Chicken Enchiladas–Archie Style

This recipe is a keeper.

Archie is a friend of Mr. FeistyEats and he is quite hilarious. They met at Mr. FeistyEats former workplace and became pretty good buddies. One great memory I have is going to Archie and Jess’s wedding in Minnesota – in the middle of nowhere. I volunteered to be the DD since I was driving two good friends to the wedding and I didn’t know the couple as well. You can imagine how that turned out. It was a total blast – dancing our faces off, oh, and drinking our faces off and us sleeping in my car. Oh well, better than driving! OK, let’s do this easy dinner recipe!

DSCN4087DSCN4089

As I usually do, I made the chicken ahead in the Crock Pot while I was at work and didn’t have to mess with it while I was home. I used chicken thighs which were then de-boned and the skin was removed. You could use chicken breasts or even canned chicken if you wanted to though. I was lucky enough to have Mr. FeistyEats assist me in the step of preparation. Can you see him? No you cannot! His hand is a blur he is moving so fast!

DSCN4088DSCN4090

While Mr. FeistyEats was working with the chicken, I diced up an onion and jalapeno. Archie uses the jalapeno on top, but I wanted it sautéed and added to the onion. Then, I went to spin class and Mr. FeistyEats sautéed those veggies in some butter. Once I got home, it was dark so please bear with the photos. Before I continue though, here is the recipe in its entirety, written by Archie himself. You can see he is a funny guy. My changes are in italics.

Chicken Enchiladas (Archie style)
3 cups diced chicken (I like a lot of chicken) (I used thighs, you can use whatever cut you prefer)
1-cup diced onion
½ cup diced G. pepper (skipped this as I didn’t have any on hand)
4 oz. can of Green Chilis (chopped and seeded)
1-diced jalapeno (optional) (Necessary!)
2 ½ cups of chicken broth (I used one can)
¼ cup flour
1 tsp. of Ground coriander (I used cumin)
1 tsp. of salt (skipped this)
5 tbls butter (not margarine or any type of substitute, it upsets my
ancestors) (Sorry Arch, I used margarine – hope your ancestors aren’t too upset!)
1 cup S. cream
8 oz. shredded Monterey jack
8-10 large Flour Tortilla shells

Cooked diced chicken and put in separate bowl w/ green chilis. Sauté onions and g. peppers in 2 tbsp. of butter and combine w/ chicken and g. chilis.

In a medium sized pot melt 3 tbs of butter. Mix flour, coriander and salt in melted butter. Add chicken broth all at once. Heat at medium temp and stir frequently until gravy thickness. If you add more flour to thicken add a little more coriander so sauce doesn’t get a floury taste. When sauce is thickened stir in sour cream and a good handful of cheese.
Add approx 1 ½ cup of sauce to chicken mixture.

In a large pan pour some gravy into pan to coat the bottom. Stuff each tortilla w/ about ½ to ¾ cup of chicken mixture and fill pan. Pour remaining gravy and cheese over the top. I like to sprinkle a little cayenne seasoning and diced jalapenos over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes (until cheese is slightly brown and
bubbling)

DSCN4091DSCN4092DSCN4093DSCN4095

When you add the flour, make sure you cook it with the butter to get rid of the flour taste. You want it browned and chunky a bit. When you add the chicken broth it will seem a mess – just simply whisk it together and once it comes to a boil; it will thicken to a gravy consistency.

DSCN4094DSCN4098DSCN4099DSCN4100

My best advice to make this recipe even better is to use FRESHLY grated cheese. It makes such a difference. Don’t forget to coat the bottom of your pan with some gravy!

DSCN4101DSCN4102

I used both Flatout wraps (amazing, buy them!) and smaller corn tortillas. This recipe is just a guideline, feel free to add other fillers. I added in some pinto beans. Other ideas might include tomatoes, salsa, cilantro and more. Be sure to place the wrapped enchiladas seam side down in your pan.

DSCN4103

The final thing that sets this over the edge?

DSCN4104

The cheese on top!

I actually do not have a final picture of this! I had to work and at this point, I wrapped this in foil and stuck it in the fridge with instructions for Mr. FeistyEats to bake it the next day for his supper. This would be a great make ahead meal and would freeze nicely as well. Enjoy and thank you Archie!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

