Ice cream

There are a few things I think I’ll likely never bake or make. Most of them I feel would be too complicated – a lot of pastry type foods or fancy, lengthy dinner recipes. And I am fine with that. I think there are plenty of other easy things to make. I never thought I’d make ice cream because I do not have an ice cream machine and I don’t really desire to own one. However, we I saw a recipe pop up over at Kevin & Amanda, I knew I had to try it out! What a simple ingredient list.

DSCN4019

Cinnamon Bun Ice Cream
2 cups heavy cream
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Whip heavy cream to stiff peaks in large bowl. Whisk sweetened condensed milk, butter, cinnamon, and vanilla in large bowl. Mix well. Fold in whipped cream.

Recipe via Kevin & Amanda. Side note, I am loving the hanging rack for the measuring cups!

DSCN4020DSCN4021

I placed my metal bowl and wire whisk in the fridge overnight to make sure everything was cold. The cream whips up better if it is nice and cold! But your whisk attachment on, start it up on medium and walk away. It takes a while to get it fluffy. You could do this by hand, but I do not recommend it!

DSCN4022DSCN4023

In the meantime, combine your sweetened condensed milk, melted butter, cinnamon and vanilla. Whisk that together.

DSCN4024

Make sure your cream has peaks. Once the cream gets “fluffy”, it takes very little time to get to the right point. You could very quickly overbeat the cream so watch it carefully.

DSCN4025DSCN4027

FOLD the cream in with the milk mixture. You don’t want the cream to loose all the air that was just beat into it.

DSCN4028DSCN4029

It should looks very light brown and smooth. Pour into a container to be frozen for at least 6 hours. This is very fluffy at this point like cool whip. It will harden up but it is very creamy obviously. This went VERY well with spiced zucchini cake. I think it would be a delicious filling between snicker doodle cookies and I might try that if I get time this week.

I couldn’t stop there! I needed to use my other 2 cups of cream before it went bad. Enter peanut butter ice cream and cookies!

DSCN4044

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (1 pint) cold whipping cream
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-2 cups crushed cookies – I used fudge stripes, anything would work though. I used about 19 cookies. 

DSCN4045DSCN4048

Do a similar approach of whipping the cream and incorporating the other ingredients in a separate bowl. Fold together and freeze for at least 6 hours.

DSCN4049

This is what it looks like before it is frozen. They are both really good and easy to make on your own with no fancy equipment required.

DSCN4077

Zucchini cake with cinnamon ice cream. Enjoy friends! I hope to have some savory recipes coming up soon…if they turn out! Smile

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert, How To. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice cream

  1. Karl says:

    Mmmmmmm!!!!!! Cookies and ice cream sounds GREAT!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

