Spiced zucchini cake

I know! A lot of zucchini recipes. This is a sweet one that really reminded me of pumpkin cake or banana bars in the way that it is SUPER moist and dense.

DSCN4071

I STILL have zucchini left so I’m not sure if I will try another recipe to use it up or not. I’d make this again, I love the fall flavors and dense cake.

DSCN4051

Here is how I made my cake:

Recipe via allrecipes.com with a few modifications noted in italics.

Ingredients
  • 3 cups grated unpeeled zucchini (I peeled mine)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 cups white sugar (I used 1 cup)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (Did not use as I do not own this spice)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil (I used a little less than this)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 9×13 inch pan.
  2. Place grated zucchini in a colander and set aside to drain.
  3. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl until well blended. Beat the eggs, applesauce, oil, and vanilla in a separate bowl until smooth. Fold in the flour mixture, then stir in the zucchini. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
  4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 45 to 55 minutes. Allow to cool completely before cutting.

DSCN4052DSCN4053

I peeled my zucchini because I didn’t want the green showing in the cake. I considered taking the seeds out but I didn’t want to mess with it. I started shredding the zucchini with my metal box shredder and said forget that! It would take me forever to get 3 cups. I remembered this awesome gadget my grandmother got for me that I had yet to use for TWO years. Where does the time go?

DSCN4054

This is a slicer and shredder attachment you can put on your Kitchen Aid stand mixer. What took me so long to use this???

DSCN4055DSCN4056

After some taking some time to assemble the attachment (why am I such a moron sometimes?) I shredded that zucchini in mere minutes. Muah ha ha. Take that box shredder. This is an amazing attached and it comes with two shredder cups and two slicer cups for different sizes.

DSCN4057

Look at that! How slick! I love it. You want to do this step first so you can drain the very wet veggie while you prepare the rest of the cake.

DSCN4060

This is about 3 cups of shredded zucchini. That smeared drop towards the bottom of the photo is water. It just drips out.

DSCN4061DSCN4062

Put the dry ingredients in one bowl and whisk together. In another bowl put the wet ingredients and mix together. I used my stand mixer since I had it out buy you could easily do this by hand. I had sent Mr. FeistyEats to get applesauce and he done good! Thanks Mr!

DSCN4063DSCN4064

Gradually add the dry to the wet and fold together.

DSCN4065

You want to take your freakishly long looking forearm and squeeze the zucchini and get most of the water out. A good amount will come out. Then, add it to your cake mix.

DSCN4066DSCN4067

Place cake in a greased cake pan and bake it.

DSCN4068DSCN4069

Here is the cake all baked. My kitchen smelled wonderful. Since I left 1 cup of white sugar out, I thought I would put a powdered sugar glaze on top. Next time, I will skip this step. It wasn’t needed at all.

DSCN4077

Here is the cake with some creamy cinnamon ice cream I made. It was my first time making ice cream and these went together super great. I’ll post more about the ice cream another time. A few more photos just for fun are below. Enjoy your week!

DSCN4072

DSCN4073

This is at Black Sands golf course in Beulah. These photos do not serve justice for the view. On top we saw lots of golden wheat fields ready for harvest and on the bottom shot, you see the town of Beulah and lots of lovely trees. It was such a gorgeous day of golfing and I actually golfed 18 holes instead of just 9. Great day!

DSCN4033

What I deal with in my kitchen. This is not a large kitchen and this dog takes up a big chunk but he always tries to see if anything falls on the floor. He is doing better in Hazen, but isn’t back to his old self quite yet. He is getting better though!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiced zucchini cake

  1. Tried this today (with your mods) and the whole family loved it! I’m wearing thin on trying to use up all this zucchini and might just shred and freeze the rest. I wish there were as many recipes for cucumbers… especially the oversized ones.

    I had to laugh at your attachment story. I got too about four years ago and have never opened it. If I would’ve scrolled down at the beginning of my zucchini cake adventure, I would’ve cracked mine today too. Next time 🙂

    Thanks for the great recipe!
    Adrienne

Leave a Reply

