Ice Cream Cake

I have a super long post this evening. It takes up a lot of room because I made this dessert for a very special person in my life, my grandma, Ann Hemphill. Our whole family got together this weekend to celebrate her turning 75 years young. She lives in Sawyer, where I grew up, in the same house she has always lived in during my lifetime. She is a caring woman and is a great cook. I thought of decorating her a cake, but with the nice weather, ice cream sounded much more suitable.

DSCN3939

This is what I started with. Some cookies, two flavors of ice cream and Cool Whip. My main goal was to recreate a Dairy Queen cake. Those are so delicious! I didn’t use the fudge cookies, but I did use the other ingredients and more! Here is what I did.

DSCN3940DSCN3941

I took a whole package of Oreo cookies (maybe minus one or two!) and put them in the food processor and pulverized those cookies into a fine dust.

DSCN3942DSCN3943

I dumped about 2/3 of the cookie mixture into the bottom of a cake pan. This is my travel Pyrex dish. The dish comes with a cold/hot pack and a bag with handles for easy transportation. My brother gifted it to me several years ago and I just love it. To the crumbs I added about 4 Tbsp. of melted butter and mixed it in the cake pan. No need for another dirty dish.

DSCN3944

Press the crumbs into a nice crust for your bottom layer.

DSCN3945DSCN3946

Next, I took a brick of Cookies and Cream ice cream to form the bottom ice cream layer. Just made sure you take the ice cream out in advance so it gets soft. That will help make it easier to spread. I used about 2/3 of the brick. If I had been smarter and taken it out earlier so it was more runny, I could have gotten away using less. Smooth out the ice cream the best you can and stick it back into the freezer to firm up.

DSCN3947DSCN3949

In the meantime, I assembled my top layer. I took a box of white chocolate instant Jell-o and mixed it with 1 cup of milk. This leaves it very thick. Add to that 1 tub of Cool Whip. The pudding gives it a nice thick sweetness. Just fold it together.

DSCN3950

I took the bottom portion out of the freezer and added the remaining 1/3 of cookie crumbs to the top. I spread them out evening and there was no need to add butter to this part.

DSCN3948DSCN3951

I wanted to recreate the fudgy middle part of the DQ cakes. At first, I was just going to be lazy and use ice cream topping for the chocolate fudgy part. However, I couldn’t find any in our local grocery store. It was probably somewhere there but my carry cart was full and I wanted to leave. Instead, I took 1 cup of chocolate chips and about 1 Tbsp. of butter and melted that in increments in the microwave. Not pictured, I added in about 1/4 c. of milk to thin out the chocolate. Immediately drizzle that over your middle Oreo layer.

DSCN3952 DSCN3953

Next came the top ice cream layer. You can see from the picture, I allowed this to get more runny and it was way easier to spread. Again, pop this back in the freezer to firm up. I put it in overnight.

DSCN3954

The next day, I spread on the Cool Whip / Jell-o layer. You can see that this filled the cake pan to the brim!

Ice Cream Cake:

  • 1 pack of Oreos crushed
  • 4-6 Tbsp. melted butter
  • 2 bricks of ice cream, any flavor. You won’t use all of the ice cream
  • 1 cup chocolate chips melted with 1 Tbsp. butter and 1/4 c. of milk
  • White chocolate instant pudding with 1 c. of milk and 1 tub of Cool Whip
  • Any additional toppings – chocolate, candy bars, more frosting, etc.

DSCN3971DSCN3974

Once we ate at Grannie’s party, I took the cake out to “warm up” so we could easily cut and serve it. I also took some store bought frosting and added #1 Granny, ‘75’ and a heart to the top.

DSCN3972

My 75 year old Grandmother and I. The festivities were held at my parents place outside of Washburn and we ate in the garage. Doesn’t my Grannie look great? My cousin served as the official photographer and took so many great photos of our family. She was so helpful with everything that day. Well, she always is!

DSCN3976

75 means you get THREE cakes! She deserves them.

DSCN3977DSCN3978

These were store bought and you can bet I tried all the cakes. The white one had strawberry cream in it and the chocolate had more chocolate inside. They were great!

DSCN3979

I almost forgot to snap a photo as I was so busy eating. Almost all the way done though and I remembered to take a photo of the inside. It was really good. I would love this with mint ice cream or fudge swirl. So many options!

DSCN3980DSCN3982

Grannie got a lot of great cards and even a t-shirt from the Sturgis motorbike rally! All her friends will be jealous!

DSCN3985DSCN3986

The highlight of the day was definitely when Grandma opened her memory book that my cousin created for her. She took countless hours to put this book together and everyone chipped in with photos and memories. It is such an awesome memento and something she will always treasure. It has photos from her childhood, from her earlier wedded days, to her kids, grandkids and great-grandkids. Pet photos were in there too!

DSCN3987DSCN3990

My Mom and cousin set up this cute little photo area and we got pictures of each family. Here I am with Mr. FeistyEats and my other cousin’s little girl. She is just a doll. On the right is my Grannie with her four children: Marvin, Kate (my Mom), Mike and kneeling is the baby of the group, Cindy. My parents did such a great job hosting. The weather was perfect and we played yard games, ate, drank and were merry. I’ll remember this day for a long time and I’m sure Grandma will too. Just a few more pics from the day are below.

DSCN3957DSCN3958

Swimming pool with floaties, ready for the kiddies. Lots of pretty potted plants in front of the house.

DSCN3959DSCN3960

Roses and balloons.

DSCN3964DSCN3967DSCN3966DSCN3968DSCN3969DSCN3970

And food! My gosh, the food! Included: buffalo chicken dip, bean and guac dip, veggie pizza, pasta salad, potato salad, pheasant poppers, hot dogs on the fire, BBQ chicken, chips and a veggie tray. I think I tried everything!

DSCN3961

Lastly, my two favorite animals: Winston, loving the weather, food and kids and…

DSCN3965

Mr. FeistyEats manning the grill. He is so cute.

Happy 75th Grandma. We all love you.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert, FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice Cream Cake

  1. Sarah – that cake makes my mouth water! It looks so delicious. Can you ship one to Fargo in dry ice for my birthday on Aug. 28?! 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

