Can’t Leave Alone Bars

CHOCOLATE.

DSCN3937

That bowl is NOT dirty. Well, it is dirty because this is the #2 bar of the evening and I forgot to take a picture of #1. Make these. They are good. “Butter on my bread” our dinner guest said. Both Mr. FeistyEats and our guest approved. The best part? I was really busy last night doing important things involving visiting friends and beer. So when I SHOULD have been making a nice dessert, I was otherwise engaged. BUT! This came together in mere minutes with help from a boxed cake mix. I baked it for 20 minutes and it probably took about 10 minutes to assemble. Here’s how you do it!

DSCN3930

This is all you need. Simple, right?

Ingredients

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cups butter
  • 1 can (14 Oz. Can) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 box (18 Oz. Box) chocolate cake mix (I used Devil’s Food)
  • ⅓ cups vegetable oil
  • 2 whole eggs

I got this recipe from the Tasty Kitchen website. Here is the specific link. They have great recipes!

DSCN3931DSCN3932

In a mixing bowl, stir together cake mix, oil and eggs. I used my beaters, but it was totally unnecessarily. The mixture is really thick, so it is probably better to do by hand. I sprayed a cake pan and patted about 2/3 of the mixture in a 9×13 cake pan. Press as evenly as you can and go slightly up the sides.

DSCN3933DSCN3934

Microwave chocolate chips, butter and condensed milk in 1-minute increments, stirring after each one until smooth. I microwaved mine for about 3 1/2 minutes until it was smooth.

DSCN3935DSCN3936

 

Pour the melted chocolate chip mixture evenly over the dough. Place the remaining cake mix in clumps over the top. I flatted them out. Pop in a preheated over at 350* for 20 minutes. This is excellent served warm with ice cream!

DSCN3937DSCN3938

These are super gooey, sweet and delicious. This is a note from the original recipe owner:  You can change up the flavors of cake mix and chips for any combination you like! Peanut butter, mint or cherry chips with chocolate cake mix? YUM. Vanilla chips with spice mix?Perfect for a fall treat! White cake mix with chocolate? Oh yes. The possibilities are endless!

Sorry for the light posting. We are still awaiting carpet in our house and not unpacking until we get those rooms finished. Hopefully, that will happen tomorrow. This weekend my Grandma Ann turns 75 so we will be having a big family weekend. I hope my life gets a little more settled in, but no promises. I have been trying to enjoy more of my life away from my computer and it has been quite rewarding. When I lived in Fargo, I was online all.the.time. I am still online looking for recipes; just taking a step back.

Winston is still suffering from anxiety and we have a separation counseling session next week with our vet. For real. This is my life. What I won’t do for my pets! Have a great weekend!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Leave Alone Bars

  1. Alison says:

    LOOKS DELICIOUS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

