Shredded chicken nachos

Remember that salsa I made the other day? Well, I needed some food to put that salsa on. One of our favorite appetizers is nachos, so that was a simple decision. Our local grocery store, Krause’s, has chicken breasts and legs on a great sale so I snatched some up at 4:57pm on Sunday. They close at 5!! What??? I need a 24-hour supermarket. Probably not going to happen in Hazen, right?

DSCN3863DSCN3869

So, instead of baking these (or even grilling) in the extreme heat of earlier in the week, I simply seasoned the chicken, put it in the Crock Pot all day with a little water and let the chicken do it’s thing. When it was done, it literally FELL off the bone – so, so tender. The skin also came off super easy to discard. I shredded the chicken and put it in a bowl and stuck it in the fridge for future use.

DSCN3884

To make the nachos, I assembled the following ingredients: corn chips, pinto beans (or refried beans would work), cheese, chicken, lettuce, tomato, jalapenos, peppers, green onion, salsa and sour cream.

DSCN3885DSCN3886DSCN3887DSCN3888DSCN3889DSCN3890

I added some shredded chicken to a pot with a splash of water and seasoned with: cumin, garlic powder, chili powder and some cayenne. I heated it on the stovetop because the nachos just basically warm enough to melt the cheese and not the chicken. I sprayed my tin foil with Pam so the cheese didn’t stick – layered on the chips, then thinly sliced peppers, beans, green onion and lots of cheese. A block of cheese that you shred would melt better, but this is all I had. Add your chicken on top and pop in a 400* oven for about 10 minutes or until the cheese melts.

DSCN3891DSCN3892

Once I took those babies out I topped them with shredded iceberg lettuce, jalapenos (we fight over them – love the heat!) and tomatoes.

DSCN3893

Cheesy, yummy glorious-ness. For realz.

DSCN3894

Top with the fresh salsa. I added about 3/4 more cup of salsa for dipping. I. Can’t. Get. Enough!

DSCN3895DSCN3864

Brinklie (FeistyCat) sat by with her little paws sticking out watching the chaos. Winston laid by my feet the whole time I cooked. He has had a very difficult time adjusting in Hazen and had a bad episode yesterday. He is staying at the vet in Beulah and we are starting him on some anti-anxiety medicine. I truly hope it works – he is such a great dog. Love you Winston!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shredded chicken nachos

  1. These look great. How much water did you put in the crockpot with the chicken? It sounds like a great way to get shredded chicken just in time for dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

