Kim’s Corner coffee–Beulah, ND

I’m tired of trying to come up with something to write here. The truth is, my life is in limbo. I thought we sold our “old” house last week. It didn’t sell. I thought we’d be buying our “new house” today. Things are up in the air. I’m not talking about it because I don’t want to cry again and I don’t want to jinx anything. Instead, what I have truly been up to that doesn’t really involved me cooking or baking. At all.

DSCN3793

Wake up kittens! FeistyCat in enjoying life at her grandparents. We moved in her kitty condo and put it by my parents bay window. She loves it here and loves to go on her top perch to look out down after us, or usually, to nap. She thinks she rules the roost. Ha!

Due to not having a permanent house and no WiFi, I asked for some suggestions at work where I could steal some free get some lunch and free WiFi. The resounding (OK only option) was Kim’s Corner Deli on Main Street in Beulah. After getting directions driving down Main St, I soon found Kim’s. It was a cute corner location I nearly missed due to a full tree mostly blocking her sign. I had heard her chicken salad was great, alas, they were out! I thought the pulled pork sandwich was a nice option. I didn’t see any prices, so ordered the sandwich and an iced tea. I passed on the taco salad or soup which was extra. I did opt for iced tea as it is my favorite non-alcoholic (nice) beverage. Total due? I would think $6-8? $10.70. I thought this was a bit high. As a former server, I always tip, so it was $12.70. The prices were not advertised on the wall along with the coffee drinks so that was slightly annoying and alarming. I thought that was a bit much for a lunch sandwich and drink.

The gal behind the counter quickly put the sandwich together and by the time I had my laptop set up and just powered up, my meal arrived.

DSCN3794

The sandwich was indeed quite large and came with only a few side carrots and a nice amount of flavored kettle chips. I was very quickly served and the service was very friendly. The waitress (and I suspect owner) also brought a side of Bev’s BBQ Sauce that I quickly inquired about. Apparently, this is made locally (safe to assume by Bev) for her and the golf course only. She told me it was good on anything. I quickly tried it and it was good! It wasn’t the usual thick, sweet, smoky BBQ sauce I am accustomed to but more tangy, thin and vinegary. All in a good way. I complemented the bun and asked if it was homemade. It was not, but purchased locally at Bronson’s supermarket. I have to get me there soon! I did dip my chips in the BBQ sauce as well.

DSCN3795

Will I be back? Yes. I need some more WiFi for one thing (I am here now again!) but I’ll be ordering a bit more smart. I did see a bagel on the menu for $2.50 or so. Today, I finally got that chicken salad. I asked what it was served on and the young girl behind the counter (who was totally sweet) said a croissant, which is typical. I don’t care for those, so I asked if I could get it on a bun and she obliged. When Kim rang me up, she adjusted the price which was appreciated, since it was a smaller serving. The shop itself is completely charming, staff is attentive and quick; I’ll be back. After all, I might be needing that WiFi for a long time!

I am sitting here listening to all the conversation around me and apparently the chicken salad is flying off the shelves! The young girl also works at Subway, so she is already a sandwich artist, duh! It is quite busy compared to last time I was here, which was, in all fairness, later in the day.

A few things going on in my life right now. I’m not going to talk any house stuff until things are more settled. Rest assured, it has been the ass-iest (not a word, I know), most stressful and horrible thing I have had to deal with in a long time. So let us focus on the good times for right now. If things ever get back to “normal” I will try to recap the moving process. Of course, we probably don’t have enough time for that, ever. Regardless!

DSCN3796DSCN3798

This is out my parents back yard. Let’s just take one moment to hate them, mmmkay? OK.

DSCN3799DSCN3800

This is the Sertoma Park in Bismarck and the nearby amusement park. We were visiting for Mr. FeistyEats annual picnic. We, of course, took part in everything. Lunch by Famous Dave’s? Check, and tasty too boot – ribs, chicken, cole slaw, potato salad and the best cornbread biscuits I have ever had. Way better than the ones you get at their restaurant. Even though it was hotter than hot, we went next door to the park for an 18 of mini-golf. There were 5 in our group and Mr. FeistyEats kicked up all by at least 20 strokes. What the ?? I guess I need to practice.

DSCN3806DSCN3807

We took the Ferris wheel way up high to overlook the park. This was actually a great ride as we got somewhat of a breeze at the top of the wheel. We also rode the roller coaster which I assumed would be totally lame, but was actually quite fun and I giggled throughout the whole ride. It was just funny to me I was having so much fun on kids rides.

DSCN3802DSCN3803

There was this huge slide that was a hit with kids and…us. We had races with one another and Mr. FeistyEats was the champ, until the last race. He got beat by a father and son duo. Dang it! This was also a good way to cool off. At this point, we had to leave as the sun was scorching and Mr. FeistyEats coworkers were dropping like flies.

DSCN3835DSCN3834

The next day, my parents, Mr. FeistyEats, Winston and I headed out to Lake Audubon for a lovely Sunday afternoon pontoon ride. It started out uncertain, with large, dark clouds and a strong wind. It ended great with suntans, clear skies, friendly geese and warm weather. Audubon is my 2nd favorite ND lake, behind Sakakawea, of course.

DSCN3836

Don’t be afraid to take time and let the wind blow through your fur hair.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kim’s Corner coffee–Beulah, ND

  1. Kate says:

    Really Sarah the house thing was a nbit stressful but not as near as bad as youthought. I told you it would all work out in the end. I like this post as well as the others. You are going to have a lot more stressful things come along in life you just need to be calmer. Wait until you have kids hahahahhaa

Leave a Reply

