White Texas sheet cake

You are all familiar with sheet cake, right? It’s a lovely, thin chocolate cake with a wonderful chocolate frosting. Well, what about a white version? What if you don’t like chocolate? Oh wait, that was a dumb question. Who doesn’t like chocolate? I came across this recipes on AllRecipes.com and we figured it would be good to give in a whirl and my Mom could take it to her job to share.

DSCN3759

The best part about this recipe is that it was really simple ingredients and took little time to put together.

DSCN3760

Here’s the recipe up above from allrecipes.com.

DSCN3761

Start by melting two sticks of butter and 1 cup of water. Bring this to a boil and add to a separate bowl that is mixed with four, sugar, eggs, sour cream, baking soda and almond extract. I skipped the salt.

DSCN3762DSCN3763

Speaking of flour and sugar – check out these sweet containers my Mom has for her flour and sugar. They are massive and are a great way to keep the goods fresh.

DSCN3764

One note about almond flavoring…my Mom had some in her cupboard. I went ahead and added the 1 tsp. the recipe called for but I didn’t smell anything. Then I tasted it – nothing. I don’t know? I suppose maybe it got old? So I had to run into town to get the imitation almond extract. I had $5 my Mom had given me and the real stuff was more – this was $4.93! I barely scraped by. I thought that was kind of spendy, but a little goes a long way. Lesson learned!

DSCN3765DSCN3766

Here’s the mix all ready to go (no need for a mixer!) and then spread into a greased jelly roll pan. Pop it in the oven for 20-22 minutes at 350*.

DSCN3767

After 2o minutes, it was golden on the edges and smelled great. I used my Mom’s sweet testing stick to stick in the middle to make sure it was done. Let this cool for 20 minutes and then you can frost it!

DSCN3768DSCN3769DSCN3770DSCN3771

The frosting is a cinch too. Just take another stick of butter and 1/4 cup of milk and bring to a boil. Add in 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and some more almond extract. Mix well and spread onto the still slightly warm cake.

DSCN3772DSCN3773

Spread the frosting quickly as it will firm up pretty fast. Let the cake cool completely and then stuff your face with these delicious little bars! They were really good. I love almond flavoring, so I thought this would be a hit with me. I think it will be good for my Mom’s work at coffee break as they are quite sweet from the 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar on top!

DSCN3786

Super moist from the sour cream, great almond flavor and sweet, sweet frosting. I’ll make these again.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

