Brownie ice cream cupcakes with ganache

Yep! That sounds good, right? I have made these before, but I can’t remember where I came across the recipe the first time. You can make these in a variety of ways with a variety of ice creams, etc. I had a thick brownie base, Moose Tracks ice cream, topped with ganache and a few mini Reese Pieces. But you could do smaller brownies, use cake, use frozen custard, ice cream, top with whipped cream, sprinkles, chocolate chips…you get the idea.

I wanted to bring one last dessert to my co-workers before I move. My last day in Fargo will be this Friday, July 1. My co-workers were going to join me for one last going away happy hour and prior to that, I wanted an easy treat I could bring to them with half of my kitchen already packed up. Here we go!

DSCN3704

I used a Betty Crocker brownie mix. You could certainly make homemade though. With my limited kitchen tools, this was my best bet. I made 12 cupcakes – 8 employees, plus 3 guests, plus one extra one for the chef?

DSCN3705

Be sure to spray the pan and loosen the brownies once they are baked. You could also use cupcake wrappers obviously. I used about 2 Tbsp. of better per cupcake to keep them nice and thick, or because I was too lazy to bake 24. Whatever. I underbaked them just slightly so they were super gooey and fudgy in the middle.

DSCN3706DSCN3707

After the brownies have completely cooled, take your choice of ice cream and scoop enough on top of the brownie to fully cover it and fill up the cupcake tin. I used Cass Clay Moose Tracks – vanilla ice cream with chocolate fudge swirls and mini peanut butter cups – as I figured you can’t go wrong with that. These would be awesome with Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream (my personal favorite) or coffee ice cream if you are into that. The possibilities are endless.

DSCN3708DSCN3709

Once you fill all the cupcakes, smooth the melting ice cream out evenly and cover with plastic wrap and freeze the whole tray. Make sure you have room in your freezer! The idea I had was to make chocolate ganache and then whipped cream to go on top of these bad boys the next night. Except, I forgot the cream at work and I was too lazy to drive into town to get it.

DSCN3716DSCN3718

So, the next day at work I mixed up the ganache – 1/4 cup of cream – put it on the stove until it bubbles just slightly and add in 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. While you are making the ganache, take the cupcakes out and plate them to get them thawing so that brownie isn’t rock hard. By the way, thank you to my lovely co-worker, Jenny for the photos above and below.

DSCN3720

Make sure the warm ganache stays on top and serve right after you top it with a few more chocolate / peanut butter Reese’s Pieces miniatures.

DSCN3721

Stuff your face. These are so good. They are a bit messy, but kids would love these for a summer birthday party.

Quick note; remember I said we went out later that night? Well, I forgot to take my chocolate chips out of my bag and they were in the car all the next day and melted. That will teach you to lug chocolate chips around. Ha ha!

A few things I found out today:

  • I was nearly ready to murder my dog. Yes, my dog and best friend, Winston. He has been very annoying to me lately. Ever since Mr. FeistyEats left at the end of May, Winston has been clinging to me MORE than normal. Like I can’t turn around. I am sure he doesn’t know what is going on and is uncertain but when I am trying to clean and pack, this is so annoying. I need a break from my dog. He is also at the height of shedding his winter coat and man, what a mess in my house.
  • FeistyCat has discovered she has a tail. She chases it forever and man, it is funny. Then if she catches her shadow, it is even more funny as she tries to get her shadow AND her tail.
  • If you need to cut a pizza and have no utensils; a scissor works just fine. Don’t ask.
  • This is what my life has come down to: me watching my pets and sitting alone in my house. I can’t wait to move and get into our new place. I need to get back to normal soon. I am just a little out of my element here. Smile
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

