Guest Post! Lemon Blueberry Crumb Bars

Hi bloggies – I have a guest post for you while I am currently living in a 4-bedroom house with no bed, furniture or cooking utensils. I had to get creative over the weekend and used a screwdriver as a utensil…long story. It worked though! Thanks to my Mom, Kate, for the guest blog. She is where I get all my cooking skillz from. Take it away Mom! p.s. My notes are in red.

I know Sarah is feeling bad that she can’t get any food things posted, so I guess I will help her out this week. I am sure she is missing her handy kitchen mixer a lot about now. Yes and yes, thank you for the guest post Mom – the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree! Heh.

I was thinking I should make some bars for coffee break at work because by 9:30 I am starving. Mom works at a golf course doing grounds work and has some great co-workers. I remembered seeing a recipe that called for blueberries which is my favorite berry. This is most likely because it makes me think of my Uncle Joe. He lives out east and has the best blueberry patch in the world, according to me. But first I had to find the book I saw the recipe in and then I had to make a trip to the store. Then, I also got to thinking about lunch for the week, so decided I should also make lunch things at the same time. Sounds like a good idea right?? I really don’t know why I do that all the time; it gets to be a big fat mess, but I do it anyway. Again, sounds like me here. But she does make a much bigger mess than I do!

So we are going to make Lemon Blueberry Crumb Bars. Do you think that means they will be crummy?? (Ha, ha! Good one!) Guess we will find out. Here is where we will start getting mistakes, but hey that’s okay. Ain’t no shame in mistakes, momma! I thought I would be like Sarah and show you most of the steps.

image001

But, looking at this picture I see I did not use lemon juice (she used real lemon juice, not the bottled stuff) and I do not have the sugar or the eggs in the picture. Remember, this is my first try at this kind of thing. You are doing great.

You need to get your pan ready. I used a 9 x 13 cake pan. The recipe asks you to line it with foil. I usually don’t like messing with this, but I did it the right time this time. I also sprayed the foil with PAM. Love the PAM!

image002

I took time to read the recipe yet again and make sure I had everything handy. Sometimes I think I have done this, then I start to cook and whoops, wrong stuff or not what I should have then I have to make up stuff.

I start with melting butter in the microwave. Isn’t the microwave a great invention for melting things and warming things up that is mostly what mine gets used for. What do other people use the microwave for, other than warming things up? I can say I don’t think I have every really cooked anything in it. Oh, OK.

So back to melted butter and then add a yellow cake mix and an egg and lemon juice. A bit of a hint: have that lemon at room temp and roll it a bit between your hands to make squeezing the juice out of it easier. Great tip! Take off some zest first if you will need it. This can also be frozen. I mean the zest.

image003

See that handy little micro plane thing? I found that in my Christmas stuff one year from Miss Sarah and Miss Jodi (my sister). This is a great tool in the kitchen. Amen.

image004

Beat that mixture up. Notice, I have a baby Kitchen Aid mixer, not the big mama like Miss Sarah has. Thanks Jodi!!You are going to press this into the foil lined paper now. Not all of the dough, just 2/3rds of it. We are going to need a bit for the topping. I think I should get a hand mixer like that to go with the big mama!

image006

Now, let’s mix up rest of the ingredients. Cream the cream cheese and sugar until well blended. Add remaining egg, lemon juice and zest; mix well and pour over the cake mix in the pan.

image007

Add the blueberries on top of this cream cheese mixture. Remember to rinse those berries off well and let them drain while you are doing rest of the mixing.

image008

Now, you are going to use that left over cake dough from the beginning of the recipe. If you haven’t fallen asleep by now, because this is getting very long (it happens, you are doing great still!). Just pinch a bit off between your thumb and finger and lightly press it into the berry mixture. Now, go ahead and pop this in the oven and bake for 48 to 50 minutes at 350. I know that is a strange time.

image009

While it was baking, I threw together some chicken salad for lunches this week. Chicken salad, I love that stuff, you can add anything you like to it. Today we have chicken, eggs, carrots, onion, green pepper, pickle, celery, dill weed, parsley and of course mayo. Top it off with walnuts. I add the walnuts every day to the sandwich instead of adding it to the mixture so you get a bit of a crunch. These are really good on some honey wheat buns….mmmm, mmmm good. Grapes are good in this also. Why two dishes? One doesn’t like pickles and wants his with Miracle Whip, the other one gets no choice-he eats what I give him. Oh, she sounds so tough, right?

Final look at the bars after they are done!

image010

Lemon Blueberry Crumb Bars Ingredients:

½ cup butter
1 pkg (2-layersize) yellow cake mix
2 eggs divided
2 tsp zest and 3 tbsp juice
2 pkg (8 oz each) cream cheese, softened (Mom only added one and it still turned out fine)
½ cup sugar
2 ½ cups fresh blueberries

Heat oven to 350. Line 9 x 13 pan with foil extending foil over sides. Microwave butter in large microwaveable bowl until melted anywhere from 30 seconds to a minute. Add cake mix, 1 egg and 1 Tbsp lemon juice; beat with mixer until well blended. Press 2/3 of mixture onto the bottom of prepared pan.

Beat cream cheese and sugar with mixer until well mixed. Add remaining egg, lemon juice and zest mix well. Pour over crust, top with berries. Pinch small amounts of remaining cake mixture between your fingers; press lightly into cream cheese mixture.

Bake 48 to 50 minutes or until center is about set. Cool completely. Refrigerate 1 hour. Use foil handles to lift out of pan and cut into bars. Keep refrigerated.

Thank you Mom – they look delicious! Looks like you can fill in for me while we are in between houses! Mom told me she is saving one for me when I come this weekend – I can’t wait. Oh yeah, did I also mention I might need to live with you for a few weeks? And I’m bringing my pets. OK, Love You!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

